No. R-368. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Northfield High School Marauders Division III championship girls' cross-country team.

(H.C.R.296)

Offered by: Representatives Donahue of Northfield and Lewis of Berlin

Offered by: Senators Brooks, Cummings, and Pollina

Whereas, prior to 2017, neither a boys' nor girls' team of Northfield High School Marauders had won a cross-country title, and

Whereas, at the 2017 cross-country championship meet, run at Thetford Academy, Northfield's third- and fourth-fastest girl runners were unfortunately sidelined due to prior injuries, and

Whereas, despite the two girls' absence from the competition, Marauders still placed seventh, 15th, 18th, 20th, and 21st, in the Division III girls' race, resulting in Northfield finishing with the best team time and winning a narrow, but historic, one-point victory over the second-place Oxbow Union High School Olympians, and

Whereas, the entire Marauder team, consisting of Elizabeth Andrews, Tess Ayres, Corinne Bolding, Jaylyn Davidson, Lucy Gray, Faith Hoagland, Maya Humbert, Bella Martel, Ruth Milne, Avery Motyka, Emily Van Dyke, Violette Maring, Jolene Cafarelli, Savannah Covey, and Matelyn Thygesen, ran its best throughout the 2017 cross-country season, and

Whereas, second-year Head Coach Luke Foley was thrilled to contribute to Northfield's first cross-country championship, and team manager Alyssa Atwood provided great support to the Marauder girl runners, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2017 Northfield High School Marauders Division III championship girls' cross-country team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Northfield High School.