No. R-413. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2010 Essex High School Hornets Division I cochampionship boys' indoor track team.

(H.C.R.294)

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Evans of Essex, Heath of Westford, Jerman of Essex and Waite-Simpson of Essex

<u>Whereas</u>, the 2010 Vermont indoor track season culminated with an extremely exciting state championship meet that took place on February 6 at Norwich University, and

<u>Whereas</u>, it is not unusual at a track meet for a single school to dominate the day's events, but on this occasion, the Essex High School Hornets and South Burlington High School Rebels leapfrogged over one another as these two well-trained teams traded the lead, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Hornets found success during the field event segment of the meet, while the Rebels rebounded strongly when the young athletes headed to the track segment of the day, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the day's ultimate outcome remained in doubt until the meet's finale, the 4x400 relay, in which South Burlington and Essex finished second and third, respectively, just 1.04 seconds apart, and

<u>Whereas</u>, this nearly identical result tied the two schools, and the Rebels and Hornets were crowned the 2010 cochampions in Division I boys' indoor track, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Essex High School boys whose field event performance and strong showing in the 4x400 relay earned the Hornets an unusual cochampionship title included Tyler Armstrong, Tucker Auch, Max Bailey, VT LEG 257019.1 Andrew Barrows, Lucas Bassford, Jeff Breuer, R. Peter Busch, Jamie Chadurjian, Vincent Chiu, Bryce Conchieri, Kevin Conchieri, Ben Dahlgren, Stefan Deutsch, Alex DeWitt, Mike DiMambro, Jake Dowman, Sean Downing, Jake Farnham-Haskell, Ian Goodnow, Bill Hennessy, Mike Hennessy, Bert Hoehl, Sean James, Mickey Krug, Jonah Lavigne, Eric Lebria, Chas Legge, Micah Lemmel-Hay, Sean Leonard, Chris Leow, Mike Maloney, Logan Martell, Cameron Maurer, Evan McCrea, Levi Merchant, Lee Murphy, Pat Nee, Ben Nelson, Oliver Nolte, Everett O'Malley, Will Peterson, Kody Rideout, Calvin Sanderson, Ryan Shields, Matthew Siemen, Shane St. Cyr, Jason Tam, Travis Tarver, Grady Ward, Devon Weaver, and Jacob Young, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Essex coaches Jeremy Hammond, Ken Fontaine, Nate Bradbury, and Chris Polakowski worked diligently to improve each athlete's performance in his specific events which built a foundation for great success, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2010 Essex High School Hornets Division I cochampionship boys' indoor track team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Jeremy Hammond.

VT LEG 257019.1