No. R-412. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2010 Essex High School Hornets Division I boys' basketball team.

(H.C.R.293)

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Evans of Essex, Heath of Westford, Jerman of Essex and Waite-Simpson of Essex

Whereas, the Essex High School boys' basketball team sustained an unusually valuable defeat when the Burlington High School Seahorses handed the Hornets a 21-point loss early in the season because the experience enabled the Hornets to assess carefully Burlington's strengths and weaknesses, and

Whereas, the Hornets dribbled forward to a great 19-3 record that earned them a berth in the 2010 Division I championship game against the same Burlington squad, and

Whereas, now fully prepared to face the Queen City team on the hardwood court, the Hornets adopted a successful defensive stance from the first tip-off that limited the Seahorses to a mere 8 points in the first quarter and gave the Hornets a 14–8 lead with 25 percent of the game completed, and

Whereas, the Seahorses observed the Hornets' tactics as they limited Essex to only 2 points in the second quarter while gaining 6 of their own, sending the teams off the court at halftime with Essex holding a narrow 16–14 scoring advantage, and

Whereas, the third quarter featured Burlington keeping Essex close by on the scoreboard as the Hornets' lead bounced from 2 to 6 points, and the third eight minutes of play ended with Essex ahead 30–28, and

No. R-412 Page 2

Whereas, Essex, now even more acquainted with Burlington's defensive responses, was able to play its best offensive quarter of the game with 14 points while keeping the Seahorses to only 9, and the Hornets won the contest 44–37 and the 2010 Division I boys' basketball championship, and

Whereas, this first Essex boys' basketball crown in a dozen years was earned through the combined team effort of Ben Ferris, Ryan Mitchell,
Ammon Doney, Josh Stewart, Dylan Zane, David Valley, Demir Smajovic,
Chris Bogue, Dylan Begin, Corey Carlos, Owen Walsh, and Nick Salerno, and
Whereas, Head Coach Jeff Goodrich and assistant coaches Dave Rich,
Jason Webster, Nick Hendry, and Jesse Coutrayer were a guiding force for the
Hornets, and the supporting services that timer Mike Gilbert, scorer Russ
Auger, trainers Leo LaBonte, Toria Cornett, and Travis Warmouth, and
managers Reece Tanguay and Ryan Jenot provided proved invaluable, now

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

therefore be it

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2010 Essex High School Hornets Division I boys' basketball team, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Jeff Goodrich.