No. R-406. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2010 Bellows Free Academy-St. Albans Comets Division I girls' championship ice hockey team.

(H.C.R.287)

Offered by: Representatives Keenan of St. Albans City, Young of St. Albans City, Dickinson of St. Albans Town, Howrigan of Fairfield, Branagan of Georgia, Consejo of Sheldon, Gilbert of Fairfax, McAllister of Highgate, Pearce of Richford, Perley of Enosburg and Savage of Swanton

Offered by: Senators Brock and Kittell

Whereas, the 2010 Division I (Metro Division) girls' ice hockey championship contest, played on the frozen surface of Norwich University's Kreitzberg Arena, featured the No. 3 seeded Bellows Free Academy (BFA)-St. Albans Comets and the top-ranked Spaulding High School Crimson Tide, and

Whereas, the first period's scoreless tie set the scene for the few moments in the second period that would prove decisive for BFA-St. Albans' ultimate success, and

Whereas, the opening 48 seconds of the second period provided the Crimson Tide an ideal scoring opportunity as the team skated onto the ice with a power play advantage, but the BFA-St. Albans goalie quickly snatched a puck out of the air when it threatened to land inside her net, and

Whereas, the Comets proved more adept when their power play opportunity arose as they commandeered the puck after it had bounced off an official near center ice, and they shot it directly to a wide-open net to the right of the Spaulding goalie, and

No. R-406 Page 2

Whereas, on the defensive side, the Comets' goalie strongly protected the net with 23 saves, and

Whereas, the BFA-St.Albans Comets who continued a proud school tradition by clinching the team's seventh girls' hockey championship included Jayla Robtoy, Tori Hubbard, Rachel Hubbard, Aly Hardy, Kayleigh Williams, Alli Berno, Kate Howard, Abbi Boomhover, Alison Lamell, Ali Evans, Missy Garceau, Emily Seguin, Taylor Girard, Hanna Lovelette, Emily Vallee, Jennifer Deso, Kelley Match, Katelynn Moreau, Mercedes Blais, Morgan Dodd, Jessica Carpenter, Elizabeth Barbeau, and Shanley Howrigan, and team managers Brooke Boomhover and Sam Manahan provided invaluable support, and

Whereas, Head Coach Luke Cioffi and assistant coaches Jeff Rouleau and Keane Yandow were wise instructors who expertly advised the team on its championship journey, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2010 Bellows Free Academy-St. Albans Comets Division I girls' championship ice hockey team, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Luke Cioffi at Bellows Free Academy-St. Albans.