No. R-387. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2014 Essex High School Division I championship girls' indoor track team.

(H.C.R.282)

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Evans of Essex, Heath of Westford, Jerman of Essex, and Waite-Simpson of Essex

Whereas, the Essex High School Hornets opened the 2013–2014 girls' indoor track season as the defending Division I champions, and

<u>Whereas</u>, with a squad committed to winning another divisional title, the Hornets proceeded to earn first place in each of their regular season meets, and

<u>Whereas</u>, these victories acted as a warm-up for the most important meet of the year, the State Championship held on February 8 at Norwich University, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the thoroughly tested and well-prepared Hornets quickly surged ahead on the scoreboard as they won their second consecutive, and sixth overall, Division I title, earning 159 points, 52 ahead of second place Mt. Anthony Union High School, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the great Essex athletes who achieved their 2014 season objective included Claudia Allaire, Miranda Baker, Destin Barber, Margaret Barch, Rosemary Barrows, Julianna Battig, Aileen Button, Mallory Charland, Olivia Dimambro, Jenna Emery, Katherine Furland, Sade Hankey, Katherine James, Emily Kerin, Irma Melezovic, Marisa Minadeo, Rose Monahan, Melissa Morris, Charlotte Murphy, Grace Murphy, Mariah Neverett, Ashlyn Nuckols, Anna O'Malley, Hollie Parks, Taylor Picard, Sophia Seman, Lucy Sopchak, Madison Stephenson, Jessica Stowe, Charlotte Stuart, Abigail Trombley, Mia Verro, Alexis Walker, Schnell Williams, and Mina Zhao, and they were the recipients of Head Coach Joe Gonillo's excellent direction, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2014 Essex High School Division I championship girls' indoor track team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Essex High School.