No. R-368. House concurrent resolution congratulating Representative Martha P. Heath as a recipient of the New England Board of Higher Education's 2010 David C. Knapp Award for Trusteeship.

(H.C.R.270)

Offered by: Representatives Frank of Underhill, Macaig of Williston, McCullough of Williston, Acinapura of Brandon, Ancel of Calais, Botzow of Pownal, Branagan of Georgia, Brennan of Colchester, Clarkson of Woodstock, Crawford of Burke, Deen of Westminster, Donovan of Burlington, Emmons of Springfield, Head of South Burlington, Helm of Castleton, Jerman of Essex, Johnson of South Hero, Keenan of St. Albans City, Larson of Burlington, Leriche of Hardwick, Lippert of Hinesburg, Maier of Middlebury, Manwaring of Wilmington, Miller of Shaftsbury, Minter of Waterbury, Obuchowski of Rockingham, Partridge of Windham, Potter of Clarendon, Pugh of South Burlington, Sweaney of Windsor and Winters of Williamstown

Whereas, the esteemed chair of the House Committee on Appropriations,

Representative Martha Heath of Westford, is an enthusiastic advocate on

behalf of Vermont's system of public education, and she previously chaired the

House Committee on Education, and

Whereas, outside the legislature, Representative Martha Heath has

dedicated considerable time to educational governance, starting with her

membership on the Westford School Board, and

Whereas, Representative Martha Heath's commitment to improving

elementary and secondary education for all children has continued with her

membership on the boards of the Chittenden Central Supervisory Union school

district and Camp Thorpe, which serves children who are physically,

emotionally, or developmentally challenged, and

<u>Whereas</u>, on the postsecondary level, Representative Martha Heath served for a dozen years as a trustee of the University of Vermont and served on many

VT LEG 255581.1

important committees, including the Vermont Agricultural College Board of Trustees, and she played a major leadership role in the search that resulted in Daniel Fogel becoming president of the University of Vermont, and

<u>Whereas</u>, since 1997, Representative Martha Heath has sat on the board of directors of the Vermont Student Assistance Corporation and is currently its vice chair, and

<u>Whereas</u>, in recognition of Representative Martha Heath's extraordinary contribution to postsecondary education in Vermont, University of Vermont President Daniel Fogel, Vermont State Colleges Chancellor Timothy Donovan, and Vermont Student Assistance Corporation President Donald Vickers jointly nominated her for the New England Board of Higher Education's 2010 David C. Knapp Award for Trusteeship, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the distinguished panel reviewing the nominees concurred that Representative Martha Heath merits this award, and she will be presented this prestigious honor at the organization's awards banquet on Friday evening, March 5, 2010, in Boston, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates Representative Martha P. Heath on her winning the New England Board of Higher Education's 2010 David C. Knapp Award for Trusteeship, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Representative Martha Heath.

VT LEG 255581.1