## State of Vermont House of Representatives



Montpelter, Vermont

## Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 241

House concurrent resolution congratulating the drama students and theater department of U-32 High School on earning a berth at the 2024 New England Theatre Festival

Offered by: Representatives Chapin of East Montpelier, Donahue of Northfield, Goslant of Northfield, LaMont of Morristown, Mihaly of Calais, and Patt of Worcester

Whereas, two high school dramas from each New England state are annually presented at the New England Drama Council's New England Theatre Festival, held in 2024 at Attleboro (Massachusetts) High School, and

Whereas, U-32 High School's world premiere of their original play *Unspoken Word* was selected based on winning performances at the regional One Act Festival held at Hazenan Union High School and at the subsequent Vermont Drama Festival conducted at Otter Valley Union High School, and

Whereas, the plot of *Unspoken Word* "centers around Piper, a tenth-grade student grappling with selective mutism, bullying, and the aftermath of her parents' divorce," and the storyline also includes the presence of Maria Sibylla Merian, a real-life 17th-century scientist and illustrator, and

Whereas, Unspoken Word was a collaboration between director and playwright Erin Galligan-Baldwin and U-32 High School junior Calister Boyd, and the script featured the poetry of students Nadia Gongloff-Doolittle, Ace LaFountain, Mayla Landis-Marinello, Evelyn Rocha, and Ella Thomas, and

Whereas, the exemplary student cast was Jakobi Kmiecik, Evelyn Rocha, Willoughby Mikus, Ari Jorgenson, Avery Cochran, Aliza Azarian, Calister Boyd, Ari Chapin, Mayla Landis-Marinello, Ace LaFountain, Dallas Sulton'El, Ella Thomas, Nadia Gongloff-Doolittle, Amelia Garland, Kai LaRosa, Brennan Swaim, and Ashlynn Hayes, and

Whereas, adult mentors Director Erin Galligan-Baldwin, Technical Director David Sanguinetti, Costume Advisor Amy Papineau, and Lighting Designer Joseph Sanguinetti oversaw the student technical wizards Cole Saunders, Annabelle Morland, Ruby McElwain, Jesse Batdorff, Jaden Singer, Anna Stoner, Baker Beauchamp, Ace LaFountain, Emma Canty, Mira Hamilton, Olivia Sumner, Connor Boccia-Cole, Nico Chan, Adam Greenberg, Vaughn O'Hanlon, Hazel Singer, Caleb Webster, and Aidan Wiseman, and

Whereas, U-32 Principal Steven Dellinger-Pate and Theater Program Assistant Sue Verchereau were proud of these exemplary thespians, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the drama students and theater department of U-32 High School on earning a berth at the 2024 New England Theatre Festival, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to U-32 High School.