No. R-291. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers Division I championship football team.

(H.C.R.231)

Offered by: Representatives Beck of St. Johnsbury, Willhoit of St. Johnsbury, Feltus of Lyndon, Lawrence of Lyndon, Martel of Waterford, Quimby of Concord, and Toll of Danville

Offered by: Senators Benning and Kitchel

Whereas, although having played in two Division I title games in recent years, the St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers had not won a divisional football championship in over two decades, and

Whereas, the top-ranked St. Johnsbury squad faced the second-seeded and defending 2016 Division 1 champions, the Hartford High School Hurricanes, in Rutland on November 11 for the 2017 Division I title, and the ensuing 60 minutes of football proved exciting for both teams' fans, and

Whereas, although the Hilltoppers were comfortably ahead 26–12 at halftime, the Hurricanes narrowed the scoring gap to 33–32 before a reinvigorated St. Johnsbury defense sealed the Hilltoppers' narrow but cherished victory and Division I championship, and

Whereas, Hilltoppers Jacob Cady, Trey Alercio, Austin Fenoff, Derek Holbrook, Hunter Palmieri, Shane Alercio, Cale McGinnis, Geoffrey Hauver, Wilder Hudson, Noah Sorin, Ezekiel Woodward, Luke Bogie, Nate D'Agostino, Jerry Chang, Darius Kapoukranidis, Troy Lamont, Michael Brink, Zebb Winot, Anthony Gibson, Antonio Carlisle, Mathew Roy, Jacob Lacaillade, Max Burt, Ryan Louis, Shawn Guckin, Nicholas Palmieri, Lamin Latikka, Marcus Ngangi, Renwick Smith, Nick Guckin, Ryan Sullivan, Eric Lacaillade, Nick Andrade, Kaster Daine, Matthew Monaghan, Caleb Anderson, Tom Emery, Andrew Benoit, Jack Cushman, Lane Baldauf, Sam Sylvain, Gus Zevon, Jake Choiniere, Jaden Willey, Jordan Quimby, James Hayes, Caid Murphy, Jasper Rankin, George Sanders, and Raymond Lewis were thrilled with their 11–0 undefeated season and as members of the only SJA football team ever to win 11 games in one season, and

Whereas, Head Coach Rich Alercio was a model mentor, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2017 St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers Division I championship football team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to St. Johnsbury Academy.