No. R-325. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2009 Windsor High School Yellow Jackets Division III championship football team.

(H.C.R.230)

Offered by: Representatives Sweaney of Windsor, Adams of Hartland and Shand of Weathersfield

Offered by: Senators Campbell, McCormack and Nitka

Whereas, in both 2007 and 2008, the Windsor High School Yellow Jackets tried mightily to triumph at the Division III championship football game, and

Whereas, the 2009 first-seeded Windsor squad, for a second consecutive year, faced its more southerly rival, the Springfield Cosmos, this time in a contest played at Natowich Field in Brattleboro, and

Whereas, on an extremely rainy afternoon, the two well-matched teams played to a halftime tie, and

Whereas, with 7:44 remaining in the third quarter, a Yellow Jackets defensive end expertly intercepted a pass from the Cosmos's quarterback, and he carried the football for 39 yards to place Windsor on top 6–0, and

Whereas, at approximately the same time in the fourth quarter, Springfield failed to gain a yard on a fourth-and-1 play, giving possession to Windsor, and the Yellow Jackets' quarterback ran swiftly in four plays to bring his team the afternoon's second touchdown, and

Whereas, not resting on his laurels, Windsor's quarterback later rushed for 63 yards, in six consecutive plays, scoring Windsor's final touchdown, and a successful point-after kick raised the Yellow Jackets' lead to 19–0, and

No. R-325

Whereas, the Cosmos's offense did rebound and scored eight points on a touchdown and two-point conversion, but the Yellow Jackets emerged victorious, winning their first Division III football title since 1999 with a 19–8 victory, and

Whereas, the happy 2009 football Yellow Jackets are Austin Soule, Tyler Kibling, Winnie Townsend, James Lewis, Luke TanCreti, Teddy Thompson, Gavin Callahan, Steve Weeks, Matt Rafus, Evan Wood, Nick Newcity, Kyle LaFlamme, James Nolan, Tyler Garrow, Adam Harkness, Sam Kendall, Nick Ziccardi, Dan Wierzbicki, Greg Kennett, Kurt Buckman, Cody LaFlamme, Ben Fontaine, Dan Lyon, Jesse Boudro, Zachary Wood, JB Griep, Ben Collier, Jordan McCarthy, Eric Brown, Jacob Page, Leo Patenaude, Brian Holloway, and Kyle Cushing, and

Whereas, Head Coach Jim Taft and his great assistant coaches, Gary

Hurlburt, Joe Putnam, Trace TanCreti, Jesse Taft, and Ryan Hingston, are each
to be commended, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2009 Windsor High School Yellow Jackets Division III championship football team, and be it further Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Jim Taft at Windsor High School.