State of Vermont House of Representatives



Montpelier, Vermont

Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 197

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers Division I championship boys' outdoor track and field team

Offered by: Representatives Beck of St. Johnsbury, Willhoit of St. Johnsbury, Martel of Waterford, Toll of Danville, Lawrence of Lyndon, and Feltus of Lyndon

Offered by: Senators Benning and Kitchel

<u>Whereas</u>, in Division I competition at the 2017 outdoor track and field State championship held in Burlington, 18 St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers scored points, including top honors in the discus, the triple jump, and the pole vault, plus nine critical second- or third-place finishes, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the final results gave St. Johnsbury a 116–98 win over second-place Mt. Mansfield Union High School, as the Hilltoppers earned the school's 31st Division I title in this annual spring event, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the focused and skilled Hilltoppers were Samuel Baird, Charlie Cahillane, Ben Lahey, Ian Clough, Codrin Cobzaru, Kenan Hajdarevic, Michael Langham, Justin Mach, Brandon Mach, Lintaro Miyashi, Ethan Roberts, Korey Simons, Brodie Talbot, Collin Urie, Harper Wallace, Tre Wofford, Bodie Avery, Kristian Baird, Miguel Davila, Matteo Dill, Patrick Fogarty, Noah Glenshaw, Peter Mulcahy, Riley Peterson, Asher Solnit, Ralph Steyn, Lance Abella, Nathaniel Atkins, Carter Barron, Alex Carlisle, Mason Castle, Ethan Eames, Gage Hale, Sajan Harvey, Malik Joell, Lamin Latikka, Orrin Olmstead, Dillon Ryan, Mackay Breton, and Leo Desrochers, and

<u>Whereas</u>, coaches Chip Langmaid, Steve Badgley, Adam Kennedy, Micheal Zahner, Andra Hibbert, and Richard Boisseau successfully guided the team to victory, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2017 St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers Division I championship boys' outdoor track and field team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to St. Johnsbury Academy.