No. R-257. House concurrent resolution congratulating the Proctor High School 2013 Division IV girls' championship soccer team.

(H.C.R.189)

Offered by: Representatives Potter of Clarendon, Burditt of West Rutland, Canfield of Fair Haven, Carr of Brandon, Cupoli of Rutland City, Devereux of Mount Holly, Donaghy of Poultney, Fagan of Rutland City, Gage of Rutland City, Gallivan of Chittenden, Helm of Fair Haven, Komline of Dorset, Malcolm of Pawlet, Russell of Rutland City, Shaw of Pittsford, Stevens of Shoreham, and Terenzini of Rutland Town

<u>Whereas</u>, in 2011, the Proctor High School Phantoms defeated the Black River High School Presidents for the Division IV girls' soccer championship, and

Whereas, in 2012, the same two teams met again for the Division IV title, with the Presidents emerging victorious, and

<u>Whereas</u>, each of these athletically skilled teams equally was qualified to emerge as the 2013 Division IV champion, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the championship game was a close contest in which the two teams were tied 2–all at the conclusion of regulation play, but ultimately Proctor was victorious on a penalty kick following the maximum 110 minutes of play, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Proctor squad, which persevered, won the game, and the 2013 Division IV girls' soccer title, was made up of Elisabeth Tate, Maddison French, Abby McKearin, Riley Coombs, Brodie Langlois, Alyssa Valerio, Rebecca Elrick, Megan Elrick, Mackenzie Hickey, Lucy George, Gwyneth Jackson, Jessica Watson, Morgan Anderson, Ashley Perry, Hannah Ashby, Brittany Gates, Courtney Currier, Alexis Bride, Maxine Tilden, Erin Flanders, Olivia Valerio, Kayla Eugair, Reilly Duggan, and Sierra Thornton, and

Whereas, coaches Scott French and Butch Abdelnour inspired the students to play as a unified team, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Proctor High School 2013 Division IV girls' championship soccer team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Proctor High School.