No. R-340. House concurrent resolution congratulating the Hartford Hurricanes 2009 Division I championship baseball team.

(H.C.R.187)

Offered by: Representatives Bohi of Hartford, Clerkin of Hartford, Mitchell of Barnard, Adams of Hartland and Clarkson of Woodstock

Offered by: Senators Campbell, McCormack and Nitka

Whereas, the arrival of the 2009 baseball season proved especially

fortuitous for the Division I Hartford High School Hurricanes, and

<u>Whereas</u>, having not clinched the championship since 1973, this talented team was eager to write a new page in the school's interscholastic baseball history, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Hurricanes repeatedly proved their skill at limiting their opponents' scoring success, and

<u>Whereas</u>, their defensive alertness was matched with a proficiency in the batter's box that enabled the Hurricanes to earn a place in the championship game against the Mount Anthony Union High School Patriots at Burlington's Centennial Field, and

<u>Whereas</u>, in the bottom of the championship contest's second inning, the Patriots scored an unearned run, delivering a reminder to the Hurricanes that a Hartford win was not a foregone conclusion, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Hurricanes redeemed themselves in the top of the third inning, opening with a consecutive single, bunt, and a second single to tie the contest at 1–all, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the fourth inning was the decisive frame for Hartford when with runners on first and second, the Hurricane at bat directed the ball into the outfield, enabling the lead runner to score, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Hurricane's triumph was sealed as the second runner was caught in a rundown between second and third base and managed to escape a tag out and cross home plate, creating a 3–1 Hartford lead that held until the final out, due in no small measure to great Hurricane pitching and sharp infield plays, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the contributing players to the first Hartford High School Division I baseball championship in 36 years were Mat Pause, Logan Scelza, Michael Avery, Aaron Mullen, AJ Hammel, Ryan McGuire, Luke Mayer, Ryan Wetzel, Patrick Riley, Jake Rhoades, Rafael Escobar, Tim Hamel, John McKinney, Scott Palisoul, Jeff Leach, and Jake St. Sauveur, and Coach Jarrod Grassi, himself a former baseball playing Hurricane, proved a great mentor for the team, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Hartford Hurricanes 2009 Division I championship baseball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Jarrod Grassi at Hartford High School.

VT LEG 255026.1