R-214 2017

No. R-214. House concurrent resolution congratulating Vermonters Brennon Crossmon, Jacobi Lafferty, and Ethan Whalen on their outstanding athletic performances at the 2017 Elks Hoop Shoot Finals.

(H.C.R.175)

Offered by: Representatives Brennan of Colchester, Carr of Brandon, Condon of Colchester, Dakin of Colchester, Shaw of Pittsford, Taylor of Colchester, and Terenzini of Rutland Town

Offered by: Senators Collamore, Flory, Mazza, and Mullin

Whereas, the Benevolent and Protective Order of the Elks and the Elks National Foundation cosponsor the Elks Hoop Shoot, a nationwide basketball shooting contests for boys and girls 8–13 years of age, and

Whereas, the contest begins with individual Elk Lodges' shooting competitions and then proceeds to district, state, and regional rounds at which national finalists are selected, and

Whereas, three Vermont youngsters each captured the New England regional title for his age group and was awarded the opportunity to travel to Chicago for the exciting national event staged at the McGrath Arena on the campus of DePaul University, and

Whereas, Rutland Elks Lodge No. 345 sponsored Brennon Crossmon of Pittsford, a student at Otter Valley Union High School, who competed in the 12 to 13 years of age category, and represented New England with skill and determination, and

Whereas, Ethan Whalen of Rutland Town, a student at Rutland Town School, was also an entrant of Elks Lodge No. 345, competed enthusiastically in the eight to nine years of age category, and always gave the contest his maximum effort, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Jacobi Lafferty of Colchester attends the Colchester Middle School, entered the Elks Hoop Shoot through Burlington Elks Lodge No. 916, played extremely skillfully, and was one-third of a three-way tie with two other 10 to 11 years of age national male competitors who each succeeded at 24 of 25 shots, and

Whereas, the three 10–11-year-old boys were entered into a special tie-breaking best of 20 shooting round, and Jacobi Lafferty was the winner, and

Whereas, Jacobi Lafferty's name will be inscribed on the Hoop Shoot plaque at the Nasmith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts during an enshrinement ceremony, featuring a red carpet walk and the chance to meet Hall of Fame basketball players, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates Vermonters Brennon Crossmon, Jacobi Lafferty, and Ethan Whalen on their outstanding athletic performances at the 2017 Elks Hoop Shoot Finals, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each boy honored in this resolution.