No. R-193. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2019 St. Johnsbury Academy Division I girls' indoor track team on winning the school's fifth consecutive Division I championship.

## (H.C.R.160)

Offered by: Representatives Beck of St. Johnsbury, Campbell of St. Johnsbury, Feltus of Lyndon, Seymour of Sutton, Toll of Danville, Martel of Waterford, and Quimby of Concord

Offered by: Senators Kitchel and Benning

<u>Whereas</u>, despite the loss of last year's strong senior athletes, the 2019 St. Johnsbury girls' indoor track team was primed to clinch a fifth consecutive Division I title, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the 2019 State indoor track championship meet was held in Burlington, and followers of the Division I girls' competition were closely watching the Hilltoppers' performance, and

<u>Whereas</u>, a Hilltopper secured first place in the 55-meter hurdles and the 1,000- and 1,500-meter races, another first in the triple jump, a second-place finish in the long jump, and myriad third, fourth, and fifth placements that culminated in St. Johnsbury's solid 176.5–101 victory over runner-up Essex High School, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Hilltoppers who contributed to their earning the 2019 Division I crown were Callahan Beck, Danielle Chesborough, Alexis Collins, Breanna Fearon, Rebecca Green, Riley Higgs, Lia Rotti, Jen Rotti, Taryn Tremblay, Rory Young, Hannah Davis, Lilly Leach, Mikaela Strzempko, Kayla Talbot, Katherine Barney, Isabella Bostic, Molly Brennan, Charlotte Flanders, Lilly Laufenberg, Pearl Myers, Morgan Pettee, Hazel Fay, Desiree Mendez, Katie Ryan, and Sadie Bushway, and Head Coach Chip Langmaid and assistant coaches Dale Urie, Stephen Badgley, and Michael Zahner were outstanding mentors, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2019 St. Johnsbury Academy Division I girls' indoor track team on winning the school's fifth consecutive Division I championship, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to St. Johnsbury Academy.