No. R-265. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2011 Champlain Valley Union High School Redhawks Division I championship boys' hockey team.

## (H.C.R.151)

Offered by: Representatives Lenes of Shelburne, Webb of Shelburne, Lippert of Hinesburg, Macaig of Williston, McCullough of Williston and Yantachka of Charlotte

Whereas, Champlain Valley Union High School (CVU) has been represented in the final faceoff in Division I boys' ice hockey playoffs for each of the last four years, and

Whereas, in the season's opening weeks, CVU compiled a solid 9–0 record before emerging with a 1–1 tie from the only regular season encounter against the Essex High School Hornets, its eventual championship game opponent, and

Whereas, when the regular season concluded, the Hornets' 15–4–1 record merited the second seed in the Division I playoff competition, and

Whereas, the Redhawks defeated South Burlington and BFA St. Albans in the quarterfinal and semifinal rounds, respectively, and

<u>Whereas</u>, having skated their way onto the championship ice, the Redhawks were excited to battle for another chance at the divisional championship, and

Whereas, the presence of a large crowd of cheering Redhawk fans gave the players an added incentive to defeat the top-seeded Essex Hornets who brought a 16-game undefeated streak onto the ice, and

Whereas, the first period ended in a scoreless tie as defense proved the dominating form of play, and

No. R-265

Whereas, in the midst of the second period, a Redhawk fired a shot under the crossbar with barely sufficient room for the puck to travel between the Essex goalie and the bar, but enough to enable CVU to record the second period's, and ultimately the game's, only goal, and

Whereas, although the Hornets made serious attempts to score during the second period, the Redhawk goaltender proved a powerful defender, recording 15 saves during the middle third of the game and 29 overall, and

Whereas, Redhawks Mayson Kropf, Kirk Fontana, Robbie Dobrowski,
Drew Davis, Jeremy Lerner, Wilson Yandell, Jamie Thayer, Derek Goodwin,
Quinn Kropf, Max Hopper, Ethan Childs, Teddy Marshall, Adam Kaminsky,
Chris Bulla, Griffin Brady, Jeffrey Thompson, Patrick Keelan, Kyle Logan, JP
Benoit, Alex Bulla, Erick MacLean, Jason O'Brien, and Zackery Weimer were
thrilled with their victory and welcomed the support of Head Coach Mike
Murray, assistant coaches Matt Hopper and Ben Psaros, team manager Kyler
Murray, and athletic trainer Tony Lora, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2011 Champlain Valley Union High School Redhawks Division I championship boys' hockey team, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Champlain Valley Union High School.