## No. R-212. House concurrent resolution congratulating the Vermont winners of the 2022 NYSRAEF ProStart Invitational culinary competition.

## (H.C.R. 139)

Offered by: Representatives Bos-Lun of Westminster, Emmons of Springfield, Morris of Springfield, and Mrowicki of Putney

Offered by: Senators Balint, Clarkson, McCormack, Nitka, and White

<u>Whereas</u>, the ProStart Invitational features culinary and restaurant management competitions that award scholarships for secondary school students to pursue studies at leading institutions in these fields, and

<u>Whereas</u>, at the 2022 NYSRAEF (New York State Restaurant Association Educational Foundation) ProStart Invitational, held at the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park, New York, five culinary students representing the River Valley Technical Center (RVTC) in Springfield—homeschoolers Annika Knudson and Christopher Leary, and Springfield High School students Mateo Russell and Jermaine Anders, and student manager Cayden White—were honored as the first-place winners and Vermont champions, and they will represent the State at the National ProStart Invitational culinary competition to be held this May in Washington, D.C., and

Whereas, RVTC Chef David Groenewold served as an outstanding instructor and mentor, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Vermont winners of the 2022 NYSRAEF ProStart Invitational culinary competition and wishes them every success in Washington, D.C., and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each of the honorees and their instructor.