No. R-188. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2008–2009 two-year college All-Vermont Academic Team.

(H.C.R.136)

Offered by: Representatives Mrowicki of Putney, Deen of Westminster, Obuchowski of Rockingham and Partridge of Windham

Offered by: Senators Shumlin and White

Whereas, outstanding students attend two-year colleges and many then matriculate into four-year degree programs at other institutions of higher education, and

Whereas, annually, Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, with financial support from the Coca-Cola company and the USA Today newspaper, organizes the All USA Academic Team, a showcase of outstanding two-year college students throughout the country, and

Whereas, as a first step in developing the All USA Academic Team, the presidents of a state's two-year colleges nominate two students from their respective schools, and

Whereas, these student nominees constitute the membership of an individual state's All Academic Team, and

Whereas, the state's two-year college presidents select students as winners of the Senator Robert T. Stafford for Outstanding Student Leader and Senator George D. Aiken for Outstanding Community Servant Leadership All-Vermont Academic Team Awards, and

Whereas, from among the members of the state All Academic Teams, national judges then select the All USA Academic Team, and

VT LEG 247705.1

No. R-188 Page 2

Whereas, although individual Vermont colleges have participated in the All USA Academic Team competition in prior years, an official All-Vermont Academic Team was established in 2005 and celebrates its fifth year in 2009, and

Whereas, as an opportunity to honor the academic excellence of Vermont's top two-year college students and to increase the scholarship possibilities for these students at four-year colleges in Vermont, Dr. Lynda J. Katz, president of Landmark College, and David W. Mulholland, All-Vermont Academic Team executive director, and the Landmark College Student Government Association established the first official All-Vermont Academic Team, and

Whereas, the members of the All-Vermont Academic Team and their home colleges are Michael Tranchina and Miles Chickering of Landmark College and Heather Shelton of Vermont Technical College, and

Whereas, Miles Chickering of Landmark College has been named by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation as the top two-year college student in Vermont and the winner of its New Century Scholarship, and

Whereas, the Senator Robert T. Stafford Outstanding Student Leaders for Vermont's two-year colleges are Michael Moran of Landmark College and Terrance Stanley of Vermont Technical College, and

Whereas, the Senator George D. Aiken Outstanding Community Servant

Leaders for Vermont's two-year colleges are Jay Rivera of Landmark College

and Jennifer Gile of Vermont Technical College, and now therefore be it

No. R-188 Page 3

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the members of the 2009

All-Vermont Academic Team, Vermont's New Century Scholar, and its

Senator Stafford and Senator Aiken award winners, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each member of the All-Vermont Academic Team and award recipients; to Rod Risley, executive director of Phi Theta Kappa, David Mulholland, executive director of the All-Vermont Academic Team, and to Vermont Technical College and Landmark College.