No. R-155. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2019 Essex High School Hornets boys' ice hockey team on winning the school's second-consecutive Division I championship.

(H.C.R.129)

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Bancroft of Westford, Giambatista of Essex, Houghton of Essex, and Redmond of Essex

Whereas, the reigning Division I champion Essex Hornets' continued mastery of hockey rinks' icy surfaces merited their first-seed ranking for the 2019 playoffs, and

Whereas, Essex played magnificently in its march toward a berth in the championship contest at the University of Vermont's Gutterson Fieldhouse, where the Hornets faced off against the sixth-seeded Rice Memorial High School Green Knights, and

Whereas, after a scoreless first period, the Hornets erased any potential for a Rice upset, scoring three second-period goals and two in the final frame, plus tallying 17 saves overall, and skated off the ice with a triumphant 5–0 win, capturing Essex's sixteenth boys' ice hockey crown, and

Whereas, the victorious Hornets were Maxwell Foster, Grady Cram, Adie Stevens, Aidan Haggerty, Jonah Janaro, Sam Gibbs, Hazen Pierce, Tobey Cram, Joseph Maher, Charles Wiegand IV, Ryan Clark, Matthew Cincotta, Jason Smith, Gordon Schmalz, Caleb Day, Justin Prim, William Couture, Maxwell Line, Tobias Martin, Owen Young, Tyler Millett, Ian Amaliksen, Willem Barwin, Patrick Monahan, Samuel Foster, and Paul Gordon, and

Whereas, Head Coach Chris Line, and assistant coaches Dean Corkum, Kerry Wiebe, Tyler Peckham, and Matt Desautels were all helpful mentors, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2019 Essex High School Hornets boys' ice hockey team on winning the school's second-consecutive Division I championship, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Essex High School.