No. R-154. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2019 Essex High School Hornets Division I girls' ice hockey championship team.

(H.C.R.128)

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Bancroft of Westford, Giambatista of Essex, Houghton of Essex, and Redmond of Essex

Whereas, in 2019, second-seeded Essex High School and top-seeded Bellows Free Academy (BFA) St. Albans renewed their Division I girls' ice hockey championship rivalry before their exuberant fans at the University of Vermont's Gutterson Fieldhouse, and

Whereas, despite the Comets' supposed advantage, Essex held the distinction of being BFA's only opponent this season to score more than a single goal against them, and

Whereas, after a defensively dominant first period, Essex scored the opening goal at the 10:28 mark of period two and ensured its victory and the 2019 championship by shooting an insurance goal with 7:29 remaining in regulation play, and

Whereas, the jubilant Hornets were Isabelle Seguin, Ella Gibbs, Ashley Stempek, Courtney Himes, Sydney Martin, Olivia Miller-Johnson, Francesca Martin, Grace Wiggett, Abigail Robbins, Skye Yates, Sage Amaliksen, Nielsa Maddalena, Kaylee Moody, Molly Bruyns, Madeline Young, Hannah Himes, Natalie Kedzierski, Sophia Forcier, Megan Ginnett, Madisyn Larson, and Natalie McMahon, and

Whereas, Head Coach John Maddalena and assistant coaches Kimberly Fadden, Rich Celia, Brent Farnham, and Kim Martin contributed their valuable expertise to the team's victory, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2019 Essex High School Hornets Division I girls' ice hockey championship team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Essex High School.