No. R-163. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2011 Middlebury Union High School Tigers Division II championship boys' ice hockey team.

## (H.C.R.116)

Offered by: Representatives Ralston of Middlebury and Nuovo of Middlebury

Offered by: Senators Ayer and Giard

Whereas, the third-seeded Middlebury Tigers boys' ice hockey team and their Stowe Raider counterparts could not have envisioned a more eventful Division II championship game at Burlington, and

Whereas, Middlebury initiated the scoring at 5:45 into the first period when from the top of the left circle, a Tiger fired a slap shot past the Raider goalie, and

Whereas, then at 2:27 into the second period, the puck ricocheted out of the net as the Tiger goalie blocked a potential Raider goal, only to have another Raider send it back in to tie the score, and

Whereas, twice during the third period, Stowe's supporters experienced moments of hockey exultation before the disappointment of an alternative reality sunk in as the Raiders appeared to have scored first at 4:06 into the third period, and then again with 7:30 remaining in regulation play, and

Whereas, the result of those referee decisions, plus a spectacular Tiger save with seven seconds left in the third period, left the game tied 1–all at the third period's conclusion and necessitated an exciting overtime of hockey action, and

No. R-163 Page 2

Whereas, the tie was broken when a Tiger took possession of the puck and skated up the ice before carefully aiming and shooting the puck into the upper right corner of the goal zone for a 2–1 Middlebury victory, and

Whereas, Tigers Nick Bruch, Devin Dwire, Graham Barlow, Ryan Crowningshield, Andrew Myhre, Nick Audet, Colin Babcock, Erik Averill, Tim Shea, Steel White, Keenan Bartlett, Chris Hickley, Sawyer Hescock, Trevor Emilo, Allen Vincent, Kevin Galenkamp, Nick Leach, Jordan Stearns, Cody Gendreau, Arlon Staats, Sawyer McLaughlin, Max Longchamp, and Edgar Sherman are pleased to be members of the first Middlebury ice hockey championship team since 1996, and Head Coach Derek Bartlett, assistant coaches Jim Derosia and Chase Goodrich, and manager Willis Varno were important contributors to the team's success, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2011 Middlebury Union High School Division II championship boys' ice hockey team, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Middlebury Union High School.