No. R-136. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2018 Thetford Academy Panthers Division III boys' cross-country championship team.

(H.C.R.110)

Offered by: Representatives Masland of Thetford and Briglin of Thetford

Offered by: Senator MacDonald

Whereas, the Thetford Academy Panthers trained enthusiastically and rigorously for the 2018 Division III cross-country championship race, and

Whereas, this goal proved challenging, as a number of strong Thetford senior runners on the 2017 team had graduated, and

Whereas, the weather and course conditions were hardly the best, but the Panthers had the advantage of the meet occurring on their familiar home course, and

Whereas, the energized Panthers fielded a great team, whose members finished first, fifth, sixth, and sixteenth in this decisive 5-kilometer race, resulting in a first-place score of 28 points, besting Stowe, which secured second place at 43 points, as Thetford clinched its first Division III crown since 2010, and

Whereas, the Panthers who thrilled their hometown fans throughout the 2018 cross-country season were Jacob Slaughter, Owen Deffner, Bel Spelman, Gabe Gaetz, Eamon Deffner, Jason Wolstenholme, Jackson Ransom, Nathan Neubauer, Liam Patterson, and Ben Acker, and their supportive coaches were Joe Deffner and Emily Silver, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2018 Thetford Academy Panthers Division III boys' cross-country championship team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Thetford Academy.