No. R-136. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2015 Essex Union High School Division I championship boys' ice hockey team.

(H.C.R.100)

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Bancroft of Westford, Dame of Essex, Evans of Essex, and Jerman of Essex

Whereas, the Essex Hornets boys' ice hockey team and overtime play were well acquainted during the 2014–2015 season, as on nine occasions, including playoff games, three periods proved insufficient to complete a contest, and

Whereas, the strong and capable top-seeded Hornets skated their way into the Division I championship game at Gutterson Fieldhouse, where they faced off against the third-seeded South Burlington High School Rebels in a contest that marked a new milestone in a game's ice time, and

Whereas, the closely matched Hornets and Rebels were tied at two-all when regulation play concluded, and

Whereas, the teams proceeded to skate the longest-ever (79 minutes 45 seconds) Vermont ice hockey championship game, before Essex scored a thrilling 3–2 win and clinched the Division I title, and

Whereas, the Hornets, who skated an impressive 19–3–1 season, included Erik Short, Michael Croce, Brendan Gleason, Jeremy Leclair, Sean Vanzo, Ryan Young, Jacob Gaboriault, Zachariah Godin, Nicholas McGovern, Alexander Giummo, Maverick King, Zachary McGinnis, Henry Adams, Joseph Robertson, Jared Lee, Jarret Cram, Dominick Lessard, Austin Theriault, Ethan Bartlett, and Jonathan Decatur, and

Whereas, head coach Bill O'Neil, whose 14th Division I ice hockey championship set a State record, and assistant coaches Jay Parent, Andrew Roy, and Rich Ceila were superb mentors for the team, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2015 Essex Union High School Division I championship boys' ice hockey team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Essex Union High School.