No. R-119. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Rutland High School Raiders Division I girls' ice hockey championship team.

(H.C.R.89)

Offered by: Representatives Fagan of Rutland City, Burditt of West Rutland, Cupoli of Rutland City, Gage of Rutland City, Howard of Rutland City, Potter of Clarendon, Tate of Mendon, and Terenzini of Rutland Town

Offered by: Senators Collamore, Flory, and Mullin

Whereas, perennial favorites, including the Bellows Free Academy Comets, have dominated Division I championship competition, and

Whereas, the fourth-seeded Comets advanced to the ultimate faceoff at Burlington's Gutterson Fieldhouse where they met a first-time challenger for the Division I crown, the third-seeded Rutland High School Raiders, and

Whereas, the two teams had split their regular season games with each tallying a shutout against the other, demonstrating they were equally skilled on the ice, and

Whereas, the Raiders took advantage of a Comets' error in the first period then scored again in the second frame to skate off triumphantly with a 2–1 game win and the 2017 Division I crown, and

Whereas, the thrilled Raiders were Shayla Sisters, Caitie Pelkey, Ella Beraldi, Brianna Beauchamp, Megan McGee, Olivia Starer, Angelina Tommola, Katja Steupert, Lily Schillinger, Meghan Hamilton, Emma Mazzariello, Caitlin Laird, Taylor Surething, Kelsey Barker, Paige Langlois, Maggie Schillinger, Elizabeth Wideawake, Amy Howard, and Carolyn Laird, and

Whereas, Head Coach Dirk Steupert, and assistant coaches Emily Reynolds, Deanna Rodolfy, and Emme O'Rourke are now historic figures in the annals of the Rutland High School's girls' ice hockey program, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2017 Rutland High School Raiders Division I girls' ice hockey championship team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Rutland High School.