No. R-172. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2009 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship girls' ice hockey team.

(H.C.R.83)

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Evans of Essex, Heath of Westford, Jerman of Essex and Waite-Simpson of Essex

Whereas, the 2008–2009 Essex High School Hornets girls' ice hockey team's caliber of play sent it into the Division I playoffs third-seeded, and

Whereas, superb skating and puck-handling earned the team a slot in the championship game against the first-seeded Crimson Tide of Spaulding Union High School, and

Whereas, when the night of the decisive game arrived, each team demonstrated why it had reached the season's final faceoff at Norwich University's Kreitzberg Arena, and

Whereas, the Hornets' powerful and fast-paced offensive drive gave the
Essex squad a 3–0 advantage after only 11 minutes of the first period, and
Whereas, the Crimson Tide players were hardly out of contention, and
during the second period, the Spaulding girls recuperated and evened the score at 3–3, and

Whereas, the third period was critical for each team but exemplary defensive play prevented either school from adding another point to the scoreboard for almost the entire time frame, and

Whereas, with less than three seconds of regulation playing remaining,

Essex miraculously scored one final, and certainly hard-earned, goal to emerge

No. R-172 Page 2

at the buzzer with a narrow but memorable 4–3 game victory and the 2009 Division I girls' ice hockey championship, and

Whereas, the patient but determined Essex squad members Lindsey

Paquette, Jess Turner, Cassi Miller, Jorie Farnsworth, Monica Keithcart, Julia

Jenko, Chelsea Normand, Carrie Smallwood, Meaghan Goodheart, Julie Pearl,

Nicole Beaudoin, Lauren Cabanaw, Kim Dvorak, Sarah Deslandes, Lindsay

Norris, Charlotte Adams, Hilary Keithcart, Ashley McLaren, Rachel Croce,

Laura Neal, and Ricci Celia completed a season of ice hockey they will long

remember, and

Whereas, Head coach John Maddalena, assistant coaches Kim Balserus,
Brent Farnham, and Nick Mone, and team manager Katie Roberge each
assisted the Hornets in winning a 2009 championship victory, now therefore
be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2009 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship girls' ice hockey team, and be it further Resolved: That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Dr. John Maddalena at Essex High School.