State of Vermont House of Representatives



Montpelier, Bermont

Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 83

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2009 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship girls' ice hockey team

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Evans of Essex, Heath of Westford, Jerman of Essex and Waite-Simpson of Essex

Whereas, the 2008–2009 Essex High School Hornets girls' ice hockey team's caliber of play sent it into the Division I playoffs third-seeded, and

Whereas, superb skating and puck-handling earned the team a slot in the championship game against the first-seeded Crimson Tide of Spaulding Union High School, and

Whereas, when the night of the decisive game arrived, each team demonstrated why it had reached the season's final faceoff at Norwich University's Kreitzberg Arena, and

Whereas, the Hornets' powerful and fast-paced offensive drive gave the Essex squad a 3–0 advantage after only 11 minutes of the first period, and

Whereas, the Crimson Tide players were hardly out of contention, and during the second period, the Spaulding girls recuperated and evened the score at 3–3, and

Whereas, the third period was critical for each team but exemplary defensive play prevented either school from adding another point to the scoreboard for almost the entire time frame, and

Whereas, with less than three seconds of regulation playing remaining, Essex miraculously scored one final, and certainly hard-earned, goal to emerge at the buzzer with a narrow but memorable 4–3 game victory and the 2009 Division I girls' ice hockey championship, and

Whereas, the patient but determined Essex squad members Lindsey Paquette, Jess Turner, Cassi Miller, Jorie Farnsworth, Monica Keithcart, Julia Jenko, Chelsea Normand, Carrie Smallwood, Meaghan Goodheart, Julie Pearl, Nicole Beaudoin, Lauren Cabanaw, Kim Dvorak, Sarah Deslandes, Lindsay Norris, Charlotte Adams, Hilary Keithcart, Ashley McLaren, Rachel Croce, Laura Neal, and Ricci Celia completed a season of ice hockey they will long remember, and

Whereas, Head coach John Maddalena, assistant coaches Kim Balserus, Brent Farnham, and Nick Mone, and team manager Katie Roberge each assisted the Hornets in winning a 2009 championship victory, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2009 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship girls' ice hockey team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Dr. John Maddalena at Essex High School.