No. R-104. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Mt. Anthony Union High School Patriots championship wrestling team.

(H.C.R.79)

Offered by: Representatives Morrissey of Bennington, Botzow of Pownal, Corcoran of Bennington, Fields of Bennington, Miller of Shaftsbury, and Morris of Bennington

Offered by: Senators Campion and Sears

Whereas, during the 2016–2017 season, the amazing saga of Mt. Anthony Union High School wrestling continued under the mentorship of first-year Head Coach Brian Coon, and

Whereas, at the 2017 State championship wrestling meet held in Vergennes, the Patriots totally outmatched their opponents in five weight classes for individual first-place performances, and

Whereas, these great efforts, in combination with strong results from the entire squad, culminated in Mt. Anthony's capturing its 29th consecutive State championship with an overwhelming team victory of 289.5 points over second-place Essex which turned in a commendable showing at 172 points, and

Whereas, in Providence, Rhode Island, the Patriots represented their school with honor, earning a respectable third-place finish at the 2017 New England regional wrestling tournament, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the 2017 State champion Patriots were Tyler Burgess, Dennis Burnell, Noah Call, Keegan Coon, Colin Crowley, Calvin Hayford, Chris Mayer, Gage McLaughlin, Austin Prendergast, Sebastian Rocher, Dylan Ross, Ashdin Schaefer, Keenan Taylor, Sam Wilkins, and AJ Wright, and

Whereas, Head Coach Brian Coon, assistant coaches Frank Gaudette and Jeremy Burns, and team managers Anna Jacobs and Lorena Onorato were all essential contributors to the great Patriot 2016–2017 wrestling season, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2017 Mt. Anthony Union High School Patriots championship wrestling team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mt. Anthony Union High School.