No. R-80. House concurrent resolution congratulating the winners of the 2017 Entrepreneurship Education student competition.

(H.C.R.57)

Offered by: Representatives Jickling of Brookfield, Hooper of Brookfield, Beck of St. Johnsbury, Cupoli of Rutland City, Gage of Rutland City, Giambatista of Essex, Houghton of Essex, and Walz of Barre City

Whereas, enabling secondary school students to explore the exciting world of entrepreneurship was the aim of the 2017 Entrepreneurship student competition, and

Whereas, this friendly, but nonetheless competitive, event was conducted under the joint auspices of the Vermont office of the U.S. Small Business Administration, the Vermont Small Business Development Center, various Vermont Career and Technical Center student organizations, the Vermont Agency of Commerce and Community Development, Vermont Business Education Corporation, with the cooperative support of schools throughout the State, and

Whereas, the participating secondary school students were challenged to design either a bumper sticker or video public service announcement, or both, focused on the theme "VT Entrepreneurship... innovation and creativity," and

Whereas, the judges, following the receipt of many outstanding entries in December 2016, had the difficult assignment to assess the submissions' textual and artistic content and overall effectiveness and then designate the award winners, and

Whereas, on February 9, 2017, over 125 students, plus teachers, student advisors, and business and government leaders gathered in Montpelier for Entrepreneurship Day, and the announcement of the awards was a highlight of the day's activities, and

Whereas, in the bumper sticker category, the winners were first place, Alexander Simonenko (Central Vermont Career Center); second place, Mei Cen "Eva" Yi (St. Johnsbury Academy); third place, Benjamin Richards and Haleigh Molinario (Randolph Career and Technical Center); and honorable mention Eli Gignoux (Stafford Technical Center), Jordan Horne and Sheyenne Miller (Randolph Career and Technical Center), and Mayla Mashteare (Essex Career and Technical Center), and

<u>Whereas</u>, in the video public service announcement category, the winning students were first place, Harrison Steever, Tiana Sanchez, and Nick Fish (Stafford Technical Center); and second place, Naomi Husher, Amber Silloway, Bruce Bradbury, and Jack Warren (Randolph Career and Technical Center), now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the winners of the 2017 Entrepreneurship Education student competition, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each student honored in this resolution.