NO. R-84. HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING THE HARTFORD HIGH SCHOOL HURRICANES 2008 DIVISION I CHAMPIONSHIP FOOTBALL TEAM.

(H.C.R.38)

Offered by: Representatives Bohi of Hartford, Clerkin of Hartford, Mitchell of Barnard, Adams of Hartland, Deen of Westminster, Fagan of Rutland City, Greshin of Warren, Lewis of Derby, McCullough of Williston, O'Brien of Richmond, Sweaney of Windsor, Till of Jericho and Webb of Shelburne

Offered by: Senators Campbell, McCormack and Nitka

Whereas, the 2007 Division I football champions, the Hartford High School Hurricanes, kicked off the 2008 season with a squad of talented players eager to retain first-place honors on the gridiron, and

Whereas, each week this past fall, the Hurricanes' opponents sought the winning formula to defeat this powerful Windsor County team, but none succeeded in their quest for this elusive strategy, and

Whereas, once again, the Hurricanes earned a berth in the Division I championship game, but they faced a double challenge from both the strong Rutland High School Raiders and a game site in their opponents' hometown, and

Whereas, the Raiders scored the game's opening points taking a 7–0 lead, but the Hurricanes responded quickly with a 56-yard drive that tied the contest with 4:24 left in the first quarter, and soon thereafter in the second quarter, Hartford took command of the score 14–7, but the Raiders quickly equalized the point distribution at 14–all, and

NO. R-84 Page 2

Whereas, with the first half nearly concluded, Hartford out-maneuvered the Raiders in an expertly executed passing maneuver that enabled the Hurricanes to regain the lead 20–14 heading into the midgame break, and

Whereas, on the Hurricanes' first possession in the third quarter, they completed a 57-yard drive culminating in a 15-yard touchdown run that created the final 26–14 lead, and the late game assistance of Hartford's great defense answered any lingering doubts that Hartford would win its second consecutive Division I football title, and

Whereas, the Hurricanes' entire roster, including Cory Simonds, Tucker Stone, Trevor Wood, Brandon Bergeron, Jeff Leach, Ryan Wetzel, Mick Wong, Taylor Kelton, Michael Paino, Cameron Laundry, Jake St. Sauveur, Connor McWilliams, Derek Bebee, Matt Latvis, Jackson Young, Peter Crosby, Alex Rowe, John McKinney, Travis Wilson, Patrick Riley, Carl Barr, Scott Scott-Smith, Troy Bell, Eric LaFountaine, Miles Latham, Martin Dulac, Terrell Martin, Tyler Frink, Seth Bell, Steven Ladka, Drew Twitchell, Logan DeFelice, Beau Bomhower, Tyler Rider, Thomas Andrews, Bobby Murray, Eric Meunier, Ryan Aiken, Jesse Schaal, Nathan Ocker, Walter Todt, Les Hobbs, Stephen Mackner, Robert Shaw, Ryan Carman, and Owen Newton, played skillfully and with great team spirit and appreciated the dependable support of team manager James Courtney, and

Whereas, Head Coach Mike Stone and his assistant coaches Ben Gardner, Matt Trombley, Rick Adams, William Schellong, Peter Lynch, Gary Aher,

NO. R-84 Page 3

Lauck Blake, and Corey Holmes, as well as video and scouting coordinator

David St. Sauveur, provided essential guidance to the Hurricanes, now
therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Hartford High School

Hurricanes 2008 Division I championship football team, and be it further

Resolved: That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mike Stone at Hartford High School.