No. R-60. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2016 Hartford High School Hurricanes Division I championship football team.

(H.C.R.29)

Offered by: Representatives Lucke of Hartford, Christie of Hartford, Buckholz of Hartford, Bartholomew of Hartland, Bock of Chester, Briglin of Thetford, and Masland of Thetford

Offered by: Senators Clarkson, McCormack, and Nitka

<u>Whereas</u>, the 2016 Hartford Hurricanes Division I football team (10–1 overall, 10-0 in State) played superbly all fall, achieving the top ranking for playoff competition, and

<u>Whereas</u>, to no one's surprise, the 2016 Division I championship game, played in Rutland, pitted the Hurricanes against the second-seeded St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers (9–3), resulting in a memorable afternoon of gridiron excitement, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Hurricanes dominated the first two quarters of play, exiting at halftime with a commanding 24–0 lead, and despite a strong Hilltopper 14-point, fourth-quarter surge, Hartford prevailed for a satisfying 24–14 victory, clinching the school's 13th divisional championship, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the 2016 Hurricane football players were Lukas Bjorkman, Jack Elder, Jay Emerson, Gavin Farnsworth, Corey Fogg, Justin Koloski, Matthew Lucke, Brett MacLaren, Brian Moran, Bailey Nott, Troy Potter, Khant Thu, Neil Tinker, Kalob Wheeler, Jack Wozniak, Justin Bailey, Dalton Bartlett, Justin Bettis, Walker Farley, Austin Gaudette, Tyler Hamilton, Cody Jones, Riley Kehoe, Steven Neily, Hunter Perkins, Kody Rhodes, Austin Shepard, Eric Zeitz, Nick Cameron, Ryan Fortune, Keevan Haley, James Klauer, Andrew Knight, Trevor LaBrecque, Riley Packard, Max Pfeiffer, Nick Porter, Colton Schaal, Reece Thompson, Dylan Tucker, Zack Burek, and Kyle Hamilton, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Head Coach Matthew Trombly and assistant coaches Marc Bucklin, Bill Schellong, Peter Lynch, Cory Holmes, Dan Ammel, Brandon Bergeron, Tim Porter, and Tyler Searles helped guide the Hurricanes to victory, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2016 Hartford High School Hurricanes Division I championship football team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Hartford High School.