R-21 Page 1 of 1

2015

No. R-21. House concurrent resolution congratulating the Essex Union High School Hornets 2014 Division I championship field hockey team.

(H.C.R.10)

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Bancroft of Westford, Dame of Essex, Evans of Essex, and Jerman of Essex

Whereas, field hockey is a fast-paced sport played each fall on the fields of Vermont's high schools, and

Whereas, the Essex Union High School Hornets entered the 2014 Division I competition as the reigning champions, and

Whereas, the Hornets proved a solid team of skilled field hockey players as they remained undefeated throughout the regular season and into the playoffs, and

Whereas, top-seeded Essex advanced to the exciting Division I championship game in which it played against second-seeded Champlain Valley Union High School, and

Whereas, the Hornets scored first with sixteen minutes remaining in regulation play, and although Champlain Valley soon tied the game, Essex quickly surged ahead 2–1 to win the contest and its second consecutive Division I title, and

Whereas, the 15–0–1 Hornets who celebrated the great 2014 season included Abigail Evans, Kylie Svarczkopf, Siena Teare, Therese Lupariello, Talia Boyers, Allison Rutz, Erin Murphy, Cristina Tellez, Kathleen Young, Sarah Smith, Grace Murphy, Tiffany Barnes, Anna Mechler, Elise Carney, Avery MacGillivray, Jenna Puleo, Maria Grant, and Madison Corkum; and head coach Heather Garrow; assistant coaches Robin Noble, Grace O'Neil, Barbara Isham, Kate Mitchell, and Kelsey Anair, and head trainer Leo Labonte were all supportive of the team's efforts, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Essex Union High School Hornets 2014 Division I championship field hockey team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Essex Union High School.