No. R-18. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2014 Wendy's High School Heisman Awards' Vermont State winners Abigail Schmidt and John Winslow.

(H.C.R.7)

Offered by: Representatives Devereux of Mount Holly, Shaw of Pittsford, and Carr of Brandon

Offered by: Senators Campbell, Collamore, Flory, McCormack, Mullin, and Nitka

<u>Whereas</u>, the purpose of Wendy's High School Heisman Awards is to help "the nation's youth pursue their passions and realize their dreams," and

<u>Whereas</u>, these awards, based on academic achievement, athletic participation, and school leadership, honor high school students and are presented to school, state, and national winners, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the two 2014 Vermont State winners are Abigail Schmidt from Black River Union High School in Ludlow and John Winslow from Otter Valley Union High School in Brandon, and

<u>Whereas</u>, academically, Abigail Schmidt was her school's 2013–2014 University of Vermont Blue and Gold Scholarship winner and is an active member of Black River's National Honor Society chapter, and

Whereas, her school leadership roles include both student council president and captain of the girls' varsity soccer team, and

Whereas, Abigail Schmidt's athletic participation has also included membership on State championship snowboarding and softball teams, and

<u>Whereas</u>, her community service involves many organizations, including Black River Good Neighbors and the Church of the Annunciation, and

<u>Whereas</u>, John Winslow is talented in the classroom and on the playing field, has earned the respect of his fellow students and the Otter Valley Union High School faculty, and was chosen as a delegate to the 2014 Boys' State program, and

Whereas, he has been inducted into his school's National Honor Society chapter, and

<u>Whereas</u>, John Winslow's athletic leadership is reflected in his selection as captain of the Otter Valley football and basketball teams as well as of the North-South All Star Football Team, and he has repeatedly won all-star honors in both sports as well as baseball, and

Whereas, Abigail Schmidt and John Winslow were ideal award winners, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2014 Wendy's High School Heisman Awards' Vermont State winners Abigail Schmidt and John Winslow, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Abigail Schmidt and John Winslow.