## Senator Margaret Dayton proposes the following substitute bill:

	WATER DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION AMENDMENTS
	2017 GENERAL SESSION
	STATE OF UTAH
	<b>Chief Sponsor: Margaret Dayton</b>
	House Sponsor:
= ]	LONG TITLE
(	General Description:
	This bill renames and modifies the membership of the Legislative Water Development
(	Commission.
I	Highlighted Provisions:
	This bill:
	<ul> <li>renames the State Water Development Commission to the Legislative Water</li> </ul>
Ι	Development Commission;
	<ul> <li>modifies the membership of the Legislative Water Development Commission; and</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>makes technical changes.</li> </ul>
Ι	Money Appropriated in this Bill:
	None
(	Other Special Clauses:
	None
l	Utah Code Sections Affected:
ŀ	AMENDS:
	73-27-102, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2016, Chapter 309

## 

## 1st Sub. (Green) S.B. 11

01-25-17 8:04 AM

26	Section 1. Section 73-27-102 is amended to read:
27	73-27-102. Legislative Water Development Commission created.
28	(1) The [State] Legislative Water Development Commission is created to determine the
29	state's role in the protection, conservation, and development of the state's water resources.
30	(2) The commission membership shall include:
31	(a) five members of the Senate, appointed by the president of the Senate, no more than
32	four of whom may be from the same political party;
33	(b) eight members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the speaker of the
34	House of Representatives, no more than six of whom may be from the same political party; and
35	[(c) the state treasurer, who shall be a nonvoting member; and]
36	[ <del>(d) the following</del> ]
37	(c) nonvoting members, appointed by the [governor:] legislative management
38	committee, upon recommendation by the cochairs of the commission described in Subsection
39	<u>(5).</u>
40	[(i) two representatives of the Office of the Governor, including one representative
41	from the Governor's Office of Management and Budget;]
42	[(ii) a representative of the Green River District;]
43	[(iii) a representative of the Upper Colorado River District;]
44	[(iv) a representative of the Lower Colorado River District;]
45	[(v) a representative of the Lower Sevier River District;]
46	[(vi) a representative of the Upper Sevier River District;]
47	[(vii) a representative of the Provo River District;]
48	[(viii) a representative of the Salt Lake District;]
49	[(ix) a representative of the Weber River District;]
50	[(x) a representative of the Bear River District;]
51	[(xi) the executive director of the Department of Natural Resources;]
52	[(xii) the executive director of the Department of Environmental Quality;]
53	[(xiii) the commissioner of agriculture and food;]
54	[(xiv) a member of the Board of Water Resources;]
55	[(xv) a representative of an organized environmental group;]
56	[(xvi) a representative of agricultural production; and]

## 01-25-17 8:04 AM

57	[(xvii) a representative with experience in finance and economics.]
58	(3) (a) $\hat{S} \rightarrow [Except as required by Subsection (3)(b), the] The \leftarrow \hat{S} members appointed by$
58a	the
59	[governor] legislative management committee under Subsection (2)[(d)](c) shall be appointed
60	or reappointed to a Ŝ→ [ <del>four-year</del> ] <u>two-year</u> ←Ŝ term.
61	Ŝ→ [ <del>(b) The [governor] <u>legislative management committee</u> shall, at the time of appointment</del>
62	<del>or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of [board] <u>commission</u></del>
63	members are staggered so that approximately half of the nonvoting members of the
64	commission are appointed every two years.
65	(e) (b) $\leftarrow \hat{S}$ When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the [governor]
65a	legislative
66	management committee, in consultation with the cochairs of the commission, shall appoint a
67	replacement for the unexpired term.
68	(4) The president of the Senate and the speaker of the House of Representatives shall,
69	to the extent possible, appoint members under Subsections (2)(a) and (b) that represent both
70	rural and urban areas of the state.
71	(5) (a) The president of the Senate shall designate a member of the Senate appointed
72	under Subsection (2)(a) as a cochair of the commission.
73	(b) The speaker of the House of Representatives shall designate a member of the House
74	of Representatives appointed under Subsection (2)(b) as a cochair of the commission.
75	(6) Attendance by at least $50\%$ of one legislative house and more than $50\%$ of the other
76	legislative house constitutes a quorum.
77	(7) (a) Compensation and expenses of a member of the commission who is a legislator
78	are governed by Section 36-2-2 and Legislative Joint Rules, Title 5, Legislative Compensation
79	and Expenses.
80	(b) Commission members who are employees of the state shall receive no additional
81	compensation.
82	(c) Other commission members shall receive no compensation or expenses for their
83	service on the commission.
84	(8) The Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel shall provide staff support
85	to the commission.