### 111TH CONGRESS 2D SESSION

# S. RES. **500**

Expressing the sincere condolences of the Senate to the family, loved ones, United Steelworkers, fellow workers, and the Anacortes community on the tragedy at the Tesoro refinery in Anacortes, Washington.

## IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

April 26, 2010

Mrs. Murray (for herself and Ms. Cantwell) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

# RESOLUTION

- Expressing the sincere condolences of the Senate to the family, loved ones, United Steelworkers, fellow workers, and the Anacortes community on the tragedy at the Tesoro refinery in Anacortes, Washington.
- Whereas the State of Washington, the Tesoro Corporation, and the United Steelworkers experienced a tragedy on April 2, 2010, when a fire occurred at the Tesoro refinery in Anacortes, Washington;
- Whereas 7 workers died as a result of the tragedy: Daniel J. Aldridge, Matthew C. Bowen, Donna Van Dreumel, Matt Gumbel, Darrin J. Hoines, Lew Janz, and Kathryn Powell;
- Whereas Federal and State government agencies, including the Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board, the

Environmental Protection Agency, and the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries, are investigating the tragedy and reviewing current safety procedures and processes to prevent future tragedies from occurring; and

Whereas, to support the victims and the families involved in the tragedy, the United Steelworkers Local 12-591 has established the Tesoro Incident Family Fund and the Tesoro Corporation and the Skagit Community Foundation have partnered to establish the Tesoro Anacortes Refinery Survivors Fund: Now, therefore, be it

### 1 Resolved, That the Senate—

- 2 (1) expresses the sincere condolences of the
- 3 Senate to the family, loved ones, United Steel-
- 4 workers, fellow workers, and the Anacortes commu-
- 5 nity on the tragedy at the Tesoro refinery in
- 6 Anacortes, Washington; and
- 7 (2) honors Daniel J. Aldridge, Matthew C.
- 8 Bowen, Donna Van Dreumel, Matt Gumbel, Darrin
- 9 J. Hoines, Lew Janz, and Kathryn Powell.

 $\bigcirc$