^{112TH CONGRESS} ^{2D SESSION} S. RES. 353

Congratulating the North Dakota State University football team for winning the 2011 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Football Championship Subdivision title.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

JANUARY 24, 2012

Mr. CONRAD (for himself and Mr. HOEVEN) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the North Dakota State University football team for winning the 2011 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Football Championship Subdivision title.
- Whereas the North Dakota State University (referred to in this preamble as "NDSU") Bison won the 2011 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Football Championship Subdivision title game in Frisco, Texas, on January 7, 2012, in a hard fought victory over the Sam Houston State University Bearkats by a score of 17 to 6;
- Whereas the NDSU Bison and coach Craig Bohl had an incredible 2011 season with a record of 14 wins and 1 defeat;

- Whereas the Bison had a season full of highlights, including a 37 to 24 win over the University of Minnesota Gophers on September 24, 2011;
- Whereas, during the championship game, the NDSU Bison offense scored 17 points against the Sam Houston State Bearkats, led by key plays from quarterback Brock Jensen, running back D.J. McNorton, and punter Matt Voigtlander;
- Whereas the stifling Bison defense shut down the Bearkats, limiting the Bearkats to just 2 field goals;
- Whereas Bison linebacker Travis Beck, the Most Outstanding Player of the game, secured a momentum-changing interception in the final minutes of the game to preserve the win for the Bison;
- Whereas the Bison, who were previously a dominant force in the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II, have continued to strive for excellence since moving up a division in 2004 and have proven they are able to compete and win in Division I;
- Whereas Coach Bohl and his staff have instilled character and confidence in the NDSU players and have done an outstanding job with the Bison football program;
- Whereas the leadership of President Dean Bresciani and Athletic Director Gene Taylor has helped bring both academic and athletic excellence to NDSU;
- Whereas the 2011 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Football Championship Subdivision title was a victory not only for the NDSU football team, but also for the entire State of North Dakota: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—

(1) congratulates the North Dakota State Uni versity football team, the 2011 National Collegiate
 Athletic Association Division I Football Champion ship Subdivision champions;

5 (2) commends the North Dakota State Univer6 sity players, coaches, and staff for their hard work
7 and dedication; and

8 (3) recognizes the students, alumni, and loyal
9 fans for supporting the Bison on their successful
10 quest to capture the first Division I trophy for
11 North Dakota State University.

 \bigcirc