111TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION S. RES. 13

Congratulating the University of Florida football team for winning the 2008 Bowl Championship Series (BCS) national championship.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

JANUARY 13, 2009

Mr. NELSON of Florida (for himself and Mr. MARTINEZ) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

JANUARY 14, 2009

Committee discharged; considered, amended, and agreed to

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the University of Florida football team for winning the 2008 Bowl Championship Series (BCS) national championship.
- Whereas on January 8, 2009, before a crowd of more than 78,000 fans in Miami, Florida, the University of Florida Gators won the 2008 Bowl Championship Series (BCS) national title with a stunning 24–14 triumph over the University of Oklahoma Sooners;
- Whereas the University of Florida is one of the premier academic institutions in the State of Florida;
- Whereas the University of Florida Gators captured the Southeastern Conference championship title on December 6, 2008;

- Whereas University of Florida football Head Coach Urban Meyer has won two BCS national championship games in the past 3 years;
- Whereas University of Florida quarterback Tim Tebow was named the Most Outstanding Player of the BCS national title;
- Whereas Tim Tebow won the Maxwell Award for the second time in 2 years;
- Whereas the University of Florida defense held the University of Oklahoma to only 363 yards of offense in the BCS championship game;
- Whereas the Gators finished 2008 ranked first in the Associated Press Poll and first in the Coaches Poll;
- Whereas the Gators finished the 2008 season with a record of 13–1;
- Whereas the University of Florida student athletes are among the most talented in the Nation;
- Whereas University of Florida fans worldwide supported and encouraged the Gators throughout the football season;
- Whereas University of Florida President J. Bernard Machen and Athletic Director Jeremy N. Foley have shown great leadership in bringing success and glory to the University of Florida; and
- Whereas the University of Florida students, faculty, alumni, and all Gator fans are deeply committed to bringing pride to the University of Florida and the entire State of Florida: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—

(1) congratulates the University of Florida
Gators for winning the 2008 Bowl Championship
Series (BCS) national championship;
(2) recognizes the achievements of the players,
coaches, students, and staff whose hard work and

6	dedication helped the University of Florida Gators
7	win the championship; and
8	(3) respectfully requests the Secretary of the
9	Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
10	tion to—
11	(A) President of the University of Florida,
12	J. Bernard Machen;
13	(B) Athletic Director of the University of
14	Florida, Jeremy N. Foley; and
15	(C) Head Coach of the University of Flor-
16	ida football team, Urban Meyer.

 \bigcirc

3

1

2

3

4

5