111TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

H. RES. **730**

Honoring the 100th anniversary of the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

SEPTEMBER 10, 2009

Mr. KIND (for himself, Mr. Petri, Mr. Ryan of Wisconsin, Mr. Kagen, Ms. Moore of Wisconsin, Ms. Baldwin, Mr. Walz, Mrs. Bachmann, Mr. Rogers of Michigan, Mr. Davis of Illinois, Mr. Welch, and Mr. Peters) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Education and Labor

RESOLUTION

Honoring the 100th anniversary of the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

- Whereas La Crosse is located on the western border of middle-Wisconsin on the east side of the Mississippi River;
- Whereas the first Europeans to see the site of La Crosse were French fur traders who traveled the Mississippi River in the late 17th century;
- Whereas La Crosse was incorporated as a city in 1856;
- Whereas Thomas Morris sponsored a bill in the Wisconsin State Senate that led to the creation of the current day University of Wisconsin-La Crosse;

- Whereas University of Wisconsin-La Crosse was founded as the La Crosse State Normal School in 1909 for the purpose of teacher preparation;
- Whereas the philosophy of Fassett A. Cotton, the university's first president, was to train the whole person;
- Whereas "Mens Corpusque", Latin for mind and body, is the motto on the university seal;
- Whereas the college changed its name to Wisconsin State College-La Crosse in 1951 when the Wisconsin State Teachers Colleges could establish baccalaureate degrees in liberal arts;
- Whereas University of Wisconsin-La Crosse offers 88 undergraduate programs in 44 disciplines and 26 graduate programs;
- Whereas University of Wisconsin-La Crosse celebrated its 50th anniversary in 1959, the same year that presidential candidate John F. Kennedy visited the campus and spoke to the student body in Graff Main Hall auditorium;
- Whereas U.S. News & World Report ranked the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse second among Midwestern public universities offering bachelor's and master's degrees;
- Whereas the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse men's athletic teams took the nickname "Eagles" in fall 1989, and the women teams a year later;
- Whereas the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse athletic teams have won 59 NCAA Division III national titles in 9 different sports; and
- Whereas 2009 marks the 100th anniversary of the founding of the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Now, therefore, be it

- 1 Resolved, That the House of Representatives honors
- 2 the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, on its 100th anni-
- 3 versary and commends the institution's status as a leading
- 4 public university that excels in academics, athletics, and

5 quality of life for students.

 \bigcirc