111TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION H. RES. 594

Congratulating the Pittsburgh Penguins for winning the 2009 Stanley Cup Hockey Championship.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

JUNE 26, 2009

Mr. DOYLE (for himself, Mr. TIM MURPHY of Pennsylvania, Mr. BRALEY of Iowa, Mr. WILSON of Ohio, Mr. THOMPSON of Pennsylvania, Mr. MUR-THA, Mr. KANJORSKI, Mr. CARNEY, Mr. HOLDEN, Mr. SHUSTER, Mr. BRADY of Pennsylvania, Mr. ROONEY, Mr. ALTMIRE, Mr. DENT, Mr. BOCCIERI, Mr. DONNELLY of Indiana, Mr. PASCRELL, Mr. KRATOVIL, Mr. STUPAK, and Mr. DINGELL) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the Pittsburgh Penguins for winning the 2009 Stanley Cup Hockey Championship.

- Whereas, on June 12th, 2009, the Pittsburgh Penguins won the 2009 Stanley Cup Hockey Championship;
- Whereas the Penguins, in their 41st year playing in the National Hockey League, won their sixth Division Championship, their fourth Eastern Conference Championship, and their third Stanley Cup;
- Whereas the Penguins defeated the Carolina Hurricanes to clinch the Eastern Conference title and win the Prince of Wales Trophy;

- Whereas the Penguins faced the Western Conference Champion Detroit Red Wings in the Stanley Cup finals and defeating the defending champions and clinching the series with four wins and three losses;
- Whereas the city of Pittsburgh is fittingly nicknamed "The City of Champions", highlighting the city's successful professional sports teams and the community's commitment to them and their players;
- Whereas this Stanley Cup-winning season marks a fitting capstone to the Penguins' final season playing at Mellon Arena, also known as the Civic Arena or The Igloo, the only facility to house the Penguins until the new facility replaces it next season;
- Whereas Penguins Head Coach Dan Bylsma took over responsibility for the team after midseason, helping the Penguins focus on playing to their incredible potential and clinching a spot in the playoffs;
- Whereas NHL Hall of Famer Mario Lemieux and Ron Burkle have jointly owned the team for 10 years, saving the team for the city of Pittsburgh, and consistently proving their dedication to the franchise;
- Whereas Ken Sawyer, CEO of the Penguins, David Morehouse, President, Ray Shero, Executive Vice President and General Manager, Jason Botterill, Assistant General Manager, and countless others have shown true devotion to the Penguins franchise and have been successful in cultivating and keeping together a team of top quality players;
- Whereas the Penguins were led on the ice by Captain Sidney Crosby, who has shown dedicated leadership and commitment to the team through explosive, outstanding play

throughout his career, becoming the youngest NHL captain to lift the Stanley Cup;

- Whereas Evgeni Malkin was awarded the Art Ross Trophy for the top scorer in the NHL this season and the Conn Smythe Trophy for the Most Valuable Player of the Stanley Cup playoffs, making him the first Russian-born player to win this honor after also leading the playoffs in scoring;
- Whereas goaltender Marc-André Fleury consistently made crucial saves throughout the playoffs, keeping pressure off the Penguins when they held leads and keeping them in games when they were behind; and
- Whereas the Penguins' entire roster of skilled players contributed to the team's success, including Craig Adams; Philippe Boucher; Matt Cooke; John Curry; Pascal Dupuis; Mark Eaton; Ruslan Fedotenko; Mathieu Garon; Hal Gill; Eric Godard; Alex Goligoski; Sergei Gonchar; Bill Guerin; Tyler Kennedy; Chris Kunitz; Kristopher Letang; Chris Minard; Brooks Orpik; Miroslav Satan; Rob Scuderi; Jordan Staal; Petr Sykora; Maxime Talbot and several others: Now, therefore, be it
 - Resolved, That the House of Representatives con gratulates the Pittsburgh Penguins for winning the 2009
 Stanley Cup Hockey Championship and reaffirming Pitts burgh, Pennsylvania's status as The City of Champions.

 \bigcirc