112TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

H. RES. 318

Congratulating the Boston Bruins on winning the 2010–2011 Stanley Cup.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

June 21, 2011

Mr. Capuano (for himself, Mr. Lynch, Mr. Markey, Mr. Frank of Massachusetts, Mr. Neal, Mr. Olver, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Tierney, Ms. Tsongas, and Mr. Keating) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the Boston Bruins on winning the 2010–2011 Stanley Cup.

- Whereas, on June 15, 2011, the Boston Bruins won the 2010–2011 Stanley Cup in a 7 game series with the Vancouver Canucks;
- Whereas the Vancouver Canucks deserve immense credit for their historic performance during the 2010–2011 hockey season and post-season, in which the Canucks won the President's Trophy for best record in the National Hockey League and made a remarkable post-season run;
- Whereas the Boston Bruins victory was the first Stanley Cup for the Bruins in 39 years and the sixth title in the 87year history of the team;

- Whereas the 2010–2011 Bruins Stanley Cup team honored the careers of all former Bruins greats, including Bobby Orr, team president Cam Neely, "the Chief" Johnny Bucyk, Terry O'Reilly, Milt Schmidt, Eddie Shore, Raymond Bourque, and all the players who have donned a Bruins jersey in the team's rich history;
- Whereas the Bruins were led to the Stanley Cup Finals this season by the remarkable goaltending of Tim Thomas and Tuukka Rask, the outstanding leadership of Zdeno Chara, Patrice Bergeron, and Mark Recchi, and the relentless effort of Shawn Thornton, Dennis Seidenberg, David Krejci, Andrew Ference, Michael Ryder, Johnny Boychuk, Thomas Kaberle, and Vancouver native Milan Lucic;
- Whereas Gregory Campbell, Dan Paille, Shawn Thornton, and Chris Kelly contributed with points, hits, energy, faceoff wins, and penalty kills to help steer the Bruins to victory;
- Whereas the 2010–2011 season produced new Bruins stars, including Tyler Seguin, Rich Peverley, Brad Marchand, Adam McQuaid, and Nathan Horton who, despite missing the final 4 games of the historic Stanley Cup run with a severe concussion, scored two heroic game 7 winning goals against Montreal and Tampa Bay to put the Bruins in position to win their first title in 39 years;
- Whereas the Bruins, in front of playoff MVP netminder Tim Thomas who broke the record for the most saves in playoff history, allowed just 8 goals over the 7 game Stanley Cup Final;
- Whereas Patrice Bergeron displayed incredible determination over the course of four seasons, battling back from two

major concussions and after suffering another head injury in game 2 of the Eastern Conference Finals, to score the game winning goal of game 7 in the Stanley Cup Final;

Whereas Mark Recchi, who won the Stanley Cup for the third time in his career, displayed tremendous leadership and set an example for the team's corps of young players by contributing three points in game 6 of the Stanley Cup Finals to force a decisive game 7 in Vancouver;

Whereas Bruins coach Claude Julien joins the legendary Art Ross and Tom Johnson on an exclusive list of Bruins coaches to win the Stanley Cup;

Whereas Peter Chiarelli, General Manager for the Boston Bruins, built a team centered on hard work, sacrifice, and physical play;

Whereas Massachusetts is the only State to have sports teams win the NFL, MLB, NBA, and NHL championships in the 21st century: Now, therefore, be it

1 Resolved, That the House of Representatives— 2 (1) congratulates— 3 (A) the Boston Bruins for winning the 4 2010–2011 National Hockey League Stanley 5 Cup and the players, coaches, support staff, 6 owners, and executives whose ability, hard 7 work, dedication, and spirit made this season 8 possible; and 9 (B) the Vancouver Canucks for their ex-

traordinary success during the 2010–2011 sea-

10

1	son in winning the President's Trophy and the
2	Western Conference Championship; and
3	(2) directs the Clerk of the House of Represent-
4	atives to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution
5	to—
6	(A) Bruins coach Claude Julien;
7	(B) Bruins general manager Peter
8	Chiarelli;
9	(C) Bruins president Cameron Neely; and
10	(D) Bruins owner Jeremy Jacobs.