^{111TH CONGRESS} 2D SESSION H. RES. 1340

Congratulating the California State Polytechnic University, Pomona men's basketball team for winning the 2010 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball National Championship.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

May 6, 2010

Mrs. NAPOLITANO submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Education and Labor

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the California State Polytechnic University, Pomona men's basketball team for winning the 2010 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball National Championship.
- Whereas, on March 27, 2010, the California State Polytechnic University, Pomona men's basketball team defeated the Indiana University of Pennsylvania Crimson Hawks 65 to 53 in the finals of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II Men's Basketball Tournament in Springfield, Massachusetts;
- Whereas the Cal Poly Pomona Broncos shot over 50 percent from the field throughout the tournament and played with an impenetrable defense;

- Whereas the Broncos made it to the championship game for the second year in a row after being narrowly defeated the previous year by Findlay University on a last second three-point shot in overtime;
- Whereas the Broncos finished the 2009–2010 season with 28 wins and 6 losses, which was the best record in school history;
- Whereas head coach Greg Kamansky and his coaching staff, including associate head coach Bill Bannon and assistant coach Damion Hill, as well as each trainer, manager, and staff member, deserve praise and credit for their outstanding dedication to helping the Cal Poly Pomona Broncos reach the summit of college basketball success;
- Whereas Coach Kamansky was named the NCAA Division II Coach of the Year from both the National Association of Basketball Coaches and the Division II Bulletin;
- Whereas Broncos senior Austin Swift was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament, averaging 17.6 points per game;
- Whereas Broncos senior Dahir Nasser was named All Elite Eight Choice and scored 12 points in the championship game;
- Whereas the roster of the Cal Poly Pomona Broncos also included juniors Mark Rutledge, Tobias Jahn, and Donnelle Booker, sophomores Matthew Rosser and Dwayne Fells, and freshman Mitchel Anderson, Shaun Norum, and Kevin Ryan;
- Whereas the Broncos players, coaches, and staff are outstanding representatives of California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, one of the finest and most diverse public universities in the United States, widely recognized

for its applied research programs and hands-on education; and

- Whereas the Broncos played with great sportsmanship and pride throughout the season and showed tremendous dedication to their school and appreciation for their fans: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 *Resolved*, That the House of Representatives—
- 2 (1) congratulates the national champion Cali3 fornia State Polytechnic University, Pomona men's
 4 basketball team for their historic win in the 2010
 5 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II
 6 Men's Basketball Championship; and
- 7 (2) recognizes the achievements of the players,
 8 coaches, students, and support staff who were in9 strumental in helping the Cal Poly Pomona Broncos
 10 win the tournament.
 - \bigcirc