^{111TH CONGRESS} 2D SESSION H. RES. 1233

Congratulating the University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling team on winning the 2010 NCAA Division I National Wrestling Championships.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

March 25, 2010

Mr. LOEBSACK submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Education and Labor

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling team on winning the 2010 NCAA Division I National Wrestling Championships.
- Whereas the University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling Head Coach Tom Brands was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year and led the team to its 23rd national title and his 3rd straight national title, and led the team to its 34th Big Ten Conference title and his 3rd conference title;
- Whereas the University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling team was represented proudly by all 10 wrestlers at the NCAA Division I National Wrestling Championship, which included seniors Daniel Dennis, Brent Metcalf, Ryan Morningstar, Jay Borschel, Phillip Keddy, Chad Beatty, Dan Erekson, junior Jake Kerr, sophomore Montell Marion, and freshman Matt McDonough;

- Whereas the University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling team was proudly represented by 3 NCAA Division I National Champions, which included Brent Metcalf, Jay Borschel, and Matt McDonough;
- Whereas the University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling team had a final team score of 134.5 to place them first in the NCAA Division I standings;
- Whereas the University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling team represented proudly by seniors Dan Erekson and Jay Borschel who won Big Ten titles at the Big Ten Championships;
- Whereas the University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling team was honored by having 8 all-Americans with Daniel Dennis, Brent Metcalf, Ryan Morningstar, Jay Borschel, Phillip Keddy, Dan Erekson, Montell Marion, and Matt McDonough being named;
- Whereas the current University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling team has continued the teams winning history which includes another undefeated regular season, 34 Big Ten Conference Championships, and 23 NCAA Division I National Wrestling Championships;
- Whereas the University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling team has a rich tradition and history of producing champions and outstanding collegiate athletes and coaches since the program began in 1911;
- Whereas former University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling Head Coach and Olympic Gold Medalist Dan Gable helped establish one of the most successful wrestling programs in the Nation and is commended for his past leadership and guidance; and

- Whereas the University of Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling team have brought honor to themselves, the University of Iowa, the City of Iowa City, and the State of Iowa: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 *Resolved*, That the House of Representatives—
 - 2 (1) commends the University of Iowa Hawkeyes
 3 wrestling team for winning the 2010 NCAA Division
 4 I National Wrestling Championship; and
 - 5 (2) congratulates the University of Iowa Hawk6 eyes wrestling team on winning their 23rd national
 7 title and finishing the season with a perfect 23–0
 8 overall record and a perfect 8–0 conference record
 9 ending the season on a 61-match winning streak.

0