111TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION H.R. 2791

To permit each of the territories of the United States to provide and furnish a statue honoring a citizen of the territory to be placed in Statuary Hall in the same manner as statues honoring citizens of the States are placed in Statuary Hall.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

JUNE 10, 2009

Mr. FALEOMAVAEGA (for himself, Ms. BORDALLO, Mrs. CHRISTENSEN, Mr. PIERLUISI, and Mr. SABLAN) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on House Administration

A BILL

- To permit each of the territories of the United States to provide and furnish a statue honoring a citizen of the territory to be placed in Statuary Hall in the same manner as statues honoring citizens of the States are placed in Statuary Hall.
 - 1 Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representa-
 - 2 tives of the United States of America in Congress assembled,

3 SECTION 1. PLACEMENT OF STATUES OF CITIZENS OF TER-

RITORIES IN STATUARY HALL.

4

5 (a) IN GENERAL.—Section 1814 of the Revised Stat6 utes of the United States (2 U.S.C. 2131) is amended by
7 adding at the end the following new sentence: "For pur-

poses of this section, the term 'State' shall include Amer ican Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern
 Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and
 the United States Virgin Islands, except that the number
 of statues which may be provided and furnished by each
 such jurisdiction may not exceed one.".

7 (b) CONFORMING AMENDMENT REGARDING PROCE8 DURES FOR REPLACEMENT OF STATUES.—Section 311 of
9 the Legislative Branch Appropriations Act, 2001 (2
10 U.S.C. 2132), is amended—

(1) in subsection (c), by inserting after "more
than two statues" the following: "(or, in the case of
American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the
Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of
Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands,
more than one statue)"; and

17 (2) by adding at the end the following new sub-18 section:

"(f) For purposes of this section, the term 'State'
shall include American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth
of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of
Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands.".

0