US HB838 | 2019-2020 | 116th Congress


Spectrum: Bipartisan Bill
Status: Introduced on January 29 2019 - 25% progression
Action: 2019-03-25 - Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security.
Pending: House Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


Threat Assessment, Prevention, and Safety Act of 2019 This bill directs the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to establish a Joint Behavioral Threat Assessment and Management Task Force, which shall provide recommendations to Congress and DHS on the development and implementation of a national strategy for preventing targeted violence through behavioral threat assessment and management. The bill defines behavioral threat assessment and management as the systematic and evidence-based process of (1) identifying individuals whose behavior indicates a capacity for committing acts of violence, (2) investigating and gathering information from multiple sources to assess whether such individuals pose a threat, and (3) the subsequent management of such a threat. DHS shall (1) develop and implement the national strategy and provide information and training services related to it, and (2) award grants to establish community based units for implementing the national strategy.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Threat Assessment, Prevention, and Safety Act of 2019


Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX]Rep. Val Demings [D-FL]Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX]Rep. Daniel Lipinski [D-IL]
Rep. Brad Wenstrup [R-OH]Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX]Rep. Rob Woodall [R-GA]Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL]
Rep. Steve Stivers [R-OH]Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA]Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX]Rep. Josh Harder [D-CA]
Rep. Ted Yoho [R-FL]Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX]Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart [R-FL]Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY]
Rep. Steve Chabot [R-OH]Rep. Lacy Clay [D-MO]Rep. Ted Budd [R-NC]Rep. Jeff Van Drew [D-NJ]
Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA]Rep. Garland Barr [R-KY]Rep. Katie Hill [D-CA]Rep. Francis Rooney [R-FL]
Rep. John Rutherford [R-FL]Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY]Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI]Rep. Marcia Fudge [D-OH]
Rep. Bob Gibbs [R-OH]Rep. Josh Gottheimer [D-NJ]Rep. Bill Flores [R-TX]Rep. Jason Crow [D-CO]
Rep. David Roe [R-TN]Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH]Rep. Peter King [R-NY]Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL]
Rep. Ralph Norman [R-SC]Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX]Rep. Gary Palmer [R-AL]Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee [D-TX]
Rep. Richard Hudson [R-NC]Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA]Rep. Dan Crenshaw [R-TX]Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA]
Rep. Dan Newhouse [R-WA]Rep. Ed Perlmutter [D-CO]Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX]Rep. Sanford Bishop [D-GA]
Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA]Rep. Gwen Moore [D-WI]Rep. Debbie Lesko [R-AZ]Rep. Steve Cohen [D-TN]
Rep. Neal Dunn [R-FL]Rep. Anthony Brindisi [D-NY]Rep. Austin Scott [R-GA]Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA]
Rep. Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon [R-PR]Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA]Rep. John Shimkus [R-IL]Rep. Don Beyer [D-VA]
Rep. Mark Meadows [R-NC]Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ]Rep. David Rouzer [R-NC]Rep. Abigail Spanberger [D-VA]
Rep. Jeff Fortenberry [R-NE]Rep. Harley Rouda [D-CA]Rep. Robert Wittman [R-VA]Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA]
Rep. Kevin Hern [R-OK]Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR]Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX]Rep. Angela Craig [D-MN]
Rep. James Hagedorn [R-MN]Rep. Elaine Luria [D-VA]Rep. Patrick McHenry [R-NC]Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA]
Rep. Ron Wright [R-TX]Rep. Kim Schrier [D-WA]Rep. Anthony Gonzalez [R-OH]Rep. Theodore Deutch [D-FL]
Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX]Rep. David Price [D-NC]Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX]Rep. Conor Lamb [D-PA]
Rep. James Baird [R-IN]Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA]Rep. Michael Guest [R-MS]Rep. Max Rose [D-NY]
Rep. Tim Walberg [R-MI]Rep. Elizabeth Fletcher [D-TX]Rep. Jim Banks [R-IN]Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY]
Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH]Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick [R-PA]Rep. William Keating [D-MA]Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL]
Rep. David Trone [D-MD]Rep. Michael Simpson [R-ID]Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA]Rep. Roger Marshall [R-KS]
Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD]Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA]Rep. Greg Stanton [D-AZ]Rep. Mark Amodei [R-NV]
Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell [D-FL]Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX]Rep. Lucy McBath [D-GA]Rep. James Sensenbrenner [R-WI]
Rep. Eleanor Norton [D-DC]Rep. Matt Gaetz [R-FL]Rep. Colin Allred [D-TX]Rep. Greg Steube [R-FL]
Rep. David Cicilline [D-RI]Rep. Guy Reschenthaler [R-PA]Rep. Tom O'Halleran [D-AZ]Rep. Scott Tipton [R-CO]
Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA]Rep. Drew Ferguson [R-GA]Rep. Betty McCollum [D-MN]Rep. Lance Gooden [R-TX]
Rep. Ben Lujan [D-NM]Rep. David Kustoff [R-TN]Rep. C.A. Ruppersberger [D-MD]Rep. David Joyce [R-OH]
Rep. Bobby Rush [D-IL]Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers [R-WA]Rep. Susan Wild [D-PA]Rep. Tim Ryan [D-OH]
Rep. Susan Brooks [R-IN]Rep. Mark Walker [R-NC]Rep. Gil Cisneros [D-CA]Rep. Don Bacon [R-NE]
Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA]Rep. John Carter [R-TX]Rep. Madeleine Dean [D-PA]Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX]
Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA]Rep. Alexander Mooney [R-WV]Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA]Rep. Mo Brooks [R-AL]
Rep. Paul Mitchell [R-MI]Rep. Al Green [D-TX]Rep. Michael Waltz [R-FL]Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI]
Rep. David McKinley [R-WV]Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA]Rep. Joe Wilson [R-SC]Rep. Joe Cunningham [D-SC]
Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI]Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY]Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler [R-WA]Rep. Elissa Slotkin [D-MI]
Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX]Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA]Rep. Vicky Hartzler [R-MO]Rep. Gregory Meeks [D-NY]
Rep. Harold Rogers [R-KY]Rep. TJ Cox [D-CA]Rep. Fred Upton [R-MI]Rep. Dean Phillips [D-MN]
Rep. William Timmons [R-SC]Rep. Alcee Hastings [D-FL]Rep. Gus Bilirakis [R-FL]Rep. Kendra Horn [D-OK]
Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA]Rep. Ron Kind [D-WI]Rep. Ann Wagner [R-MO]Rep. Cindy Axne [D-IA]
Rep. Rick Allen [R-GA]Rep. Bennie Thompson [D-MS]Rep. Kay Granger [R-TX]Rep. Stephanie Murphy [D-FL]
Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX]Rep. Donna Shalala [D-FL]Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA]Rep. Denver Riggleman [R-VA]
Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA]Rep. Tom Cole [R-OK]Rep. Rosa DeLauro [D-CT]Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX]
Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI]Rep. Mike Gallagher [R-WI]Rep. James Comer [R-KY]


2019-03-25HouseReferred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security.
2019-01-29HouseReferred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
2019-01-29HouseIntroduced in House

Same As/Similar To

SB265 (Same As) 2019-01-29 - Read twice and referred to the Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs.


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments