US HB784 | 2019-2020 | 116th Congress


Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 177-2)
Status: Introduced on January 24 2019 - 25% progression, died in committee
Action: 2019-03-05 - Referred to the Subcommittee on the Constitution, Civil Rights, and Civil Liberties.
Pending: House Subcommittee on the Constitution, Civil Rights, and Civil Liberties Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


Establishes a new criminal offense for performing or attempting to perform an abortion if the probable post-fertilization age of the fetus is 20 weeks or more. A violator is subject to criminal penalties—a fine, a prison term of up to five years, or both. The bill provides exceptions for an abortion (1) that is necessary to save the life of the pregnant woman, or (2) when the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest. A physician who performs or attempts to perform an abortion under an exception must comply with specified requirements. A woman who undergoes a prohibited abortion may not be prosecuted for violating or conspiring to violate the provisions of this bill.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Pro trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act


Rep. Christopher Smith [R-NJ]Rep. Daniel Lipinski [D-IL]Rep. Andy Harris [R-MD]Rep. Vicky Hartzler [R-MO]
Rep. Doug Lamborn [R-CO]Rep. Robert Latta [R-OH]Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer [R-MO]Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX]
Rep. Thomas Massie [R-KY]Rep. David McKinley [R-WV]Rep. Mark Meadows [R-NC]Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX]
Rep. Bill Posey [R-FL]Rep. Steve Scalise [R-LA]Rep. Jason Smith [R-MO]Rep. Chris Stewart [R-UT]
Rep. Ann Wagner [R-MO]Rep. Tim Walberg [R-MI]Rep. Brad Wenstrup [R-OH]Rep. Robert Wittman [R-VA]
Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY]Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA]Rep. Steven Palazzo [R-MS]Rep. David Rouzer [R-NC]
Rep. Rick Allen [R-GA]Rep. Alexander Mooney [R-WV]Rep. Carol Miller [R-WV]Rep. Bill Huizenga [R-MI]
Rep. Sam Graves [R-MO]Rep. Morgan Griffith [R-VA]Rep. Scott Perry [R-PA]Rep. Austin Scott [R-GA]
Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler [R-WA]Rep. Glenn Thompson [R-PA]Rep. Tom Cole [R-OK]Rep. Nicholas Taylor [R-TX]
Rep. Walter Jones [R-NC]Rep. Michael Simpson [R-ID]Rep. Jim Jordan [R-OH]Rep. Adrian Smith [R-NE]
Rep. Lloyd Smucker [R-PA]Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN]Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR]Rep. Jody Arrington [R-TX]
Rep. Don Bacon [R-NE]Rep. Jim Banks [R-IN]Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX]Rep. Michael Cloud [R-TX]
Rep. Doug Collins [R-GA]Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL]Rep. Sean Duffy [R-WI]Rep. Ron Estes [R-KS]
Rep. Drew Ferguson [R-GA]Rep. Jeff Fortenberry [R-NE]Rep. Matt Gaetz [R-FL]Rep. Greg Gianforte [R-MT]
Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI]Rep. French Hill [R-AR]Rep. George Holding [R-NC]Rep. Mike Kelly [R-PA]
Rep. Darin LaHood [R-IL]Rep. Debbie Lesko [R-AZ]Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers [R-WA]Rep. John Rutherford [R-FL]
Rep. Mark Walker [R-NC]Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX]Rep. Joe Wilson [R-SC]Rep. Ted Yoho [R-FL]
Rep. Andy Biggs [R-AZ]Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX]Rep. Garland Barr [R-KY]Rep. Gus Bilirakis [R-FL]
Rep. Ken Buck [R-CO]Rep. Eric Crawford [R-AR]Rep. Jeff Duncan [R-SC]Rep. Bill Flores [R-TX]
Rep. Virginia Foxx [R-NC]Rep. Bob Gibbs [R-OH]Rep. Brett Guthrie [R-KY]Rep. Justin Amash [R-MI]
Rep. Ralph Abraham [R-LA]Rep. Jack Bergman [R-MI]Rep. Rob Bishop [R-UT]Rep. Ted Budd [R-NC]
Rep. Liz Cheney [R-WY]Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN]Rep. Jody Hice [R-GA]Rep. Clay Higgins [R-LA]
Rep. Richard Hudson [R-NC]Rep. David Kustoff [R-TN]Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA]Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA]
Sen. Roger Marshall [R-KS]Rep. Paul Mitchell [R-MI]Rep. Ralph Norman [R-SC]Rep. Gary Palmer [R-AL]
Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX]Rep. David Roe [R-TN]Rep. Francis Rooney [R-FL]Rep. Earl Carter [R-GA]
Rep. John Shimkus [R-IL]Rep. Dan Meuser [R-PA]Rep. Chip Roy [R-TX]Rep. Guy Reschenthaler [R-PA]
Rep. Steve Watkins [R-KS]Rep. Steve Stivers [R-OH]Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX]Rep. John Joyce [R-PA]
Rep. Steve King [R-IA]Rep. Anthony Gonzalez [R-OH]Rep. Ron Wright [R-TX]Rep. Markwayne Mullin [R-OK]
Rep. David Joyce [R-OH]Rep. Daniel Webster [R-FL]Rep. James Comer [R-KY]Rep. John Carter [R-TX]
Rep. Steve Chabot [R-OH]Rep. Bradley Byrne [R-AL]Rep. Michael Turner [R-OH]Rep. Bill Johnson [R-OH]
Rep. Mo Brooks [R-AL]Rep. Tom Rice [R-SC]Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX]Rep. Robert Aderholt [R-AL]
Rep. Steve Womack [R-AR]Rep. Mike Gallagher [R-WI]Rep. Brian Mast [R-FL]Rep. Gregory Pence [R-IN]
Rep. William Timmons [R-SC]Rep. Tim Burchett [R-TN]Rep. Harold Rogers [R-KY]Rep. Pete Stauber [R-MN]
Rep. Kelly Armstrong [R-ND]Rep. Dusty Johnson [R-SD]Rep. Martha Roby [R-AL]Rep. Tom Graves [R-GA]
Rep. Greg Steube [R-FL]Rep. Trey Hollingsworth [R-IN]Rep. Larry Bucshon [R-IN]Rep. Lance Gooden [R-TX]
Rep. Fred Keller [R-PA]Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA]Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI]Rep. Neal Dunn [R-FL]
Rep. Kevin Hern [R-OK]Rep. Billy Long [R-MO]Rep. Mark Green [R-TN]Rep. Mike Johnson [R-LA]
Rep. Greg Murphy [R-NC]Rep. James Baird [R-IN]Rep. Russ Fulcher [R-ID]Rep. Ben Cline [R-VA]
Rep. Mike Bost [R-IL]Rep. Bryan Steil [R-WI]Rep. Dan Newhouse [R-WA]Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA]
Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX]Rep. Charles Fleischmann [R-TN]Rep. Warren Davidson [R-OH]Rep. Denver Riggleman [R-VA]
Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA]Rep. Patrick McHenry [R-NC]Rep. Michael Waltz [R-FL]Rep. Louie Gohmert [R-TX]
Rep. David Schweikert [R-AZ]Rep. James Hagedorn [R-MN]Rep. John Rose [R-TN]Rep. Adam Kinzinger [R-IL]
Rep. Ross Spano [R-FL]Rep. Scott Tipton [R-CO]Rep. Michael Guest [R-MS]Rep. Dan Bishop [R-NC]
Rep. Collin Peterson [D-MN]Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY]Rep. Dan Crenshaw [R-TX]Rep. Christopher Jacobs [R-NY]
Rep. Frank Lucas [R-OK]Rep. Tom Reed [R-NY]Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX]


2019-03-05HouseReferred to the Subcommittee on the Constitution, Civil Rights, and Civil Liberties.
2019-01-24HouseReferred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
2019-01-24HouseIntroduced in House

Same As/Similar To

SB160 (Related) 2019-04-09 - Committee on the Judiciary. Hearings held.
SB3275 (Related) 2020-02-25 - Cloture on the motion to proceed to the measure not invoked in Senate by Yea-Nay Vote. 53 - 44. Record Vote Number: 57. (CR S1136)


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments