US HB556 | 2021-2022 | 117th Congress


Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 197-0)
Status: Introduced on January 28 2021 - 25% progression
Action: 2021-01-28 - Referred to the House Committee on Foreign Affairs.
Pending: House Foreign Affairs Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


Establishes that a foreign nongovernmental organization shall not be disqualified from receiving certain U.S. international development assistance solely because the organization provides medical services using non-U.S. government funds if the medical services are legal in both the United States and the country in which they are being provided. Such foreign organizations shall not be subject to requirements relating to their use of non-U.S. funds for advocacy or lobbying activities, other than those that apply to U.S. nongovernmental organizations. Current U.S. policy prohibits various foreign assistance from going to a foreign nongovernmental organization unless it agrees to not perform or actively promote abortions.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Pro trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Global Health, Empowerment and Rights Act


Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA]Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA]Rep. Janice Schakowsky [D-IL]Rep. Theodore Deutch [D-FL]
Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH]Rep. Jahana Hayes [D-CT]Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA]Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA]
Rep. John Larson [D-CT]Rep. Jim Cooper [D-TN]Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA]Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz [D-FL]
Rep. Bill Foster [D-IL]Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ]Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ]Rep. Chrissy Houlahan [D-PA]
Rep. James McGovern [D-MA]Rep. Brian Higgins [D-NY]Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX]Rep. Susan Wild [D-PA]
Rep. Val Demings [D-FL]Rep. Gwen Moore [D-WI]Rep. Tom Malinowski [D-NJ]Rep. David Trone [D-MD]
Rep. Rick Larsen [D-WA]Rep. Gerald Connolly [D-VA]Rep. Veronica Escobar [D-TX]Rep. Nydia Velazquez [D-NY]
Rep. Bonnie Coleman [D-NJ]Rep. Jerrold Nadler [D-NY]Rep. Suzanne Bonamici [D-OR]Rep. Carolyn Maloney [D-NY]
Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA]Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI]Rep. Alcee Hastings [D-FL]Rep. Danny Davis [D-IL]
Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez [D-NY]Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY]Rep. Jamaal Bowman [D-NY]Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL]
Rep. Diana DeGette [D-CO]Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA]Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA]Rep. Greg Stanton [D-AZ]
Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA]Rep. Ayanna Pressley [D-MA]Rep. Peter Welch [D-VT]Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA]
Rep. Andy Levin [D-MI]Rep. Lori Trahan [D-MA]Rep. David Cicilline [D-RI]Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR]
Rep. Bradley Schneider [D-IL]Rep. Betty McCollum [D-MN]Rep. Linda Sanchez [D-CA]Rep. Lisa Rochester [D-DE]
Rep. Matthew Cartwright [D-PA]Rep. Lucy McBath [D-GA]Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA]Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA]
Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA]Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY]Rep. Ritchie Torres [D-NY]Rep. Raul Grijalva [D-AZ]
Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA]Rep. Chellie Pingree [D-ME]Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA]Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA]
Rep. Joseph Morelle [D-NY]Rep. Christopher Pappas [D-NH]Rep. Mondaire Jones [D-NY]Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA]
Rep. Dina Titus [D-NV]Rep. Rashida Tlaib [D-MI]Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY]Rep. C.A. Ruppersberger [D-MD]
Rep. Elizabeth Fletcher [D-TX]Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL]Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA]Rep. Al Green [D-TX]
Rep. Marie Newman [D-IL]Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI]Rep. Joseph Neguse [D-CO]Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA]
Rep. Sean Casten [D-IL]Rep. Kathy Manning [D-NC]Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA]Rep. John Sarbanes [D-MD]
Rep. Eleanor Norton [D-DC]Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL]Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Don Beyer [D-VA]
Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA]Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA]Rep. Nanette Barragan [D-CA]Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL]
Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA]Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA]Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI]Rep. Mike Levin [D-CA]
Rep. Yvette Clarke [D-NY]Rep. Kaialii Kahele [D-HI]Rep. Jason Crow [D-CO]Rep. Ed Case [D-HI]
Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH]Rep. David Price [D-NC]Rep. Rosa DeLauro [D-CT]Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA]
Rep. John Yarmuth [D-KY]Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA]Rep. Mike Quigley [D-IL]Rep. Kathy Castor [D-FL]
Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA]Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee [D-TX]Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD]Rep. Paul Tonko [D-NY]
Rep. Andy Kim [D-NJ]Rep. Marilyn Strickland [D-WA]Rep. Ron Kind [D-WI]Rep. Donald McEachin [D-VA]
Rep. Deborah Ross [D-NC]Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC]Rep. Tony Cardenas [D-CA]Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX]
Rep. Jennifer Wexton [D-VA]Rep. Nikema Williams [D-GA]Rep. James Himes [D-CT]Rep. Madeleine Dean [D-PA]
Rep. Jake Auchincloss [D-MA]Rep. Cori Bush [D-MO]Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D-OR]Rep. Rebecca Sherrill [D-NJ]
Rep. Antonio Delgado [D-NY]Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ]Rep. Albio Sires [D-NJ]Rep. Sylvia Garcia [D-TX]
Rep. Frank Pallone [D-NJ]Rep. Steve Cohen [D-TN]Rep. Marcy Kaptur [D-OH]Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA]
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA]Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA]Rep. Bill Pascrell [D-NJ]Rep. William Keating [D-MA]
Rep. Ilhan Omar [D-MN]Rep. Gregory Meeks [D-NY]Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA]Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon [D-PA]
Rep. Stephen Lynch [D-MA]Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY]Rep. Lauren Underwood [D-IL]Rep. Andre Carson [D-IN]
Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI]Rep. Stephanie Murphy [D-FL]Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA]Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA]
Rep. Bobby Rush [D-IL]Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA]Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX]Rep. Angela Craig [D-MN]
Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA]Rep. Steven Horsford [D-NV]Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA]Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA]
Rep. Richard Neal [D-MA]Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL]Rep. Henry Johnson [D-GA]Rep. Jesus Garcia [D-IL]
Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA]Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA]Rep. Tim Ryan [D-OH]Rep. Frederica Wilson [D-FL]
Rep. Colin Allred [D-TX]Rep. Robert Scott [D-VA]Rep. Katie Porter [D-CA]Rep. Kurt Schrader [D-OR]
Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL]Rep. Dean Phillips [D-MN]Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD]Rep. Sara Jacobs [D-CA]
Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA]Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ]Rep. Kim Schrier [D-WA]Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux [D-GA]
Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA]Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX]Rep. Terri Sewell [D-AL]Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA]
Rep. Sharice Davids [D-KS]Rep. G. Butterfield [D-NC]Rep. Haley Stevens [D-MI]Rep. Elissa Slotkin [D-MI]
Rep. Melanie Stansbury [D-NM]Rep. David Scott [D-GA]Rep. Teresa Fernandez [D-NM]Rep. Josh Harder [D-CA]
Rep. Ed Perlmutter [D-CO]


2021-01-28HouseReferred to the House Committee on Foreign Affairs.
2021-01-28HouseIntroduced in House

Same As/Similar To

SB142 (Same As) 2021-01-28 - Read twice and referred to the Committee on Foreign Relations.


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments