US HB55 | 2021-2022 | 117th Congress


Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 145-0)
Status: Introduced on January 4 2021 - 25% progression
Action: 2021-01-04 - Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
Pending: House Judiciary Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


Specifies that an offense involving lynching is a hate crime act. A violator is subject to criminal penalties—a prison term, a fine, or both.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Pro trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Emmett Till Antilynching Act


Rep. Bobby Rush [D-IL]Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA]Rep. Ilhan Omar [D-MN]Rep. Jake Auchincloss [D-MA]
Rep. Cindy Axne [D-IA]Rep. Nanette Barragan [D-CA]Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH]Rep. Sanford Bishop [D-GA]
Rep. Lisa Rochester [D-DE]Rep. Suzanne Bonamici [D-OR]Rep. Jamaal Bowman [D-NY]Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD]
Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL]Rep. G. Butterfield [D-NC]Rep. Andre Carson [D-IN]Rep. Matthew Cartwright [D-PA]
Rep. Sean Casten [D-IL]Rep. Kathy Castor [D-FL]Rep. David Cicilline [D-RI]Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA]
Rep. Yvette Clarke [D-NY]Rep. Gerald Connolly [D-VA]Rep. Jim Cooper [D-TN]Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA]
Rep. Angela Craig [D-MN]Rep. Danny Davis [D-IL]Rep. Madeleine Dean [D-PA]Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR]
Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA]Rep. Val Demings [D-FL]Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI]Rep. Michael Doyle [D-PA]
Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY]Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA]Rep. Bill Foster [D-IL]Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ]
Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA]Rep. Jesus Garcia [D-IL]Rep. Al Green [D-TX]Rep. Raul Grijalva [D-AZ]
Rep. Alcee Hastings [D-FL]Rep. Jahana Hayes [D-CT]Rep. Brian Higgins [D-NY]Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee [D-TX]
Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY]Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX]Rep. Henry Johnson [D-GA]Rep. Mondaire Jones [D-NY]
Rep. Marcy Kaptur [D-OH]Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL]Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI]Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA]
Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL]Rep. John Larson [D-CT]Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA]Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA]
Rep. Elaine Luria [D-VA]Rep. Carolyn Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Betty McCollum [D-MN]
Rep. James McGovern [D-MA]Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY]Rep. Gwen Moore [D-WI]Rep. Jerrold Nadler [D-NY]
Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA]Rep. Marie Newman [D-IL]Rep. Eleanor Norton [D-DC]Rep. Tom O'Halleran [D-AZ]
Rep. Frank Pallone [D-NJ]Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA]Rep. Christopher Pappas [D-NH]Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ]
Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA]Rep. Chellie Pingree [D-ME]Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI]Rep. David Price [D-NC]
Rep. Mike Quigley [D-IL]Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD]Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY]Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA]
Rep. Tim Ryan [D-OH]Rep. Linda Sanchez [D-CA]Rep. John Sarbanes [D-MD]Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon [D-PA]
Rep. Janice Schakowsky [D-IL]Rep. Kurt Schrader [D-OR]Rep. Terri Sewell [D-AL]Rep. Albio Sires [D-NJ]
Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA]Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA]Rep. Haley Stevens [D-MI]Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY]
Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA]Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA]Rep. Bennie Thompson [D-MS]Rep. Rashida Tlaib [D-MI]
Rep. Paul Tonko [D-NY]Rep. Ritchie Torres [D-NY]Rep. Lori Trahan [D-MA]Rep. Bonnie Coleman [D-NJ]
Rep. Peter Welch [D-VT]Rep. Nikema Williams [D-GA]Rep. Frederica Wilson [D-FL]Rep. John Yarmuth [D-KY]
Rep. C.A. Ruppersberger [D-MD]Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI]Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ]Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL]
Rep. Tony Cardenas [D-CA]Rep. Joseph Neguse [D-CO]Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX]Rep. Deborah Ross [D-NC]
Rep. Stephen Lynch [D-MA]Rep. Rick Larsen [D-WA]Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA]Rep. Kathy Manning [D-NC]
Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA]Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC]Rep. Bradley Schneider [D-IL]Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX]
Rep. Susan Wild [D-PA]Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA]Rep. Gregory Meeks [D-NY]Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA]
Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA]Rep. Lauren Underwood [D-IL]Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA]Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX]
Rep. Kaialii Kahele [D-HI]Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA]Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D-OR]Rep. Steven Horsford [D-NV]
Rep. Elizabeth Fletcher [D-TX]Rep. Michael San Nicolas [D-GU]Rep. Jennifer Wexton [D-VA]Rep. Greg Stanton [D-AZ]
Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA]Rep. Abigail Spanberger [D-VA]Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA]Rep. Dean Phillips [D-MN]
Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA]Rep. Frank Mrvan [D-IN]Rep. Sylvia Garcia [D-TX]Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux [D-GA]
Rep. Robert Scott [D-VA]


2021-01-04HouseReferred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
2021-01-04HouseIntroduced in House


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments