US HB5441 | 2021-2022 | 117th Congress


Spectrum: Moderate Partisan Bill (Democrat 201-43-1)
Status: Introduced on September 30 2021 - 25% progression
Action: 2021-09-30 - Referred to the House Committee on Energy and Commerce.
Pending: House Energy And Commerce Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


Addresses the practice of soring horses. The soring of horses includes various actions taken on horses' limbs to produce higher gaits that may cause pain, distress, inflammation, or lameness. Specifically, the bill expands soring regulation and enforcement at horse shows, exhibitions, sales, and auctions, including by establishing a new system for inspecting horses for soring. In addition, the bill increases penalties for violations.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Pro trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


PAST Act of 2021 Prevent All Soring Tactics Act of 2021


Rep. Steve Cohen [D-TN]Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick [R-PA]Rep. Janice Schakowsky [D-IL]Rep. Vern Buchanan [R-FL]
Rep. Kurt Schrader [D-OR]Rep. Tom Malinowski [D-NJ]Rep. Lucy McBath [D-GA]Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA]
Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz [D-FL]Rep. Steven Horsford [D-NV]Rep. Rebecca Sherrill [D-NJ]Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH]
Rep. Mike Quigley [D-IL]Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA]Rep. David McKinley [R-WV]Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA]
Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA]Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA]Rep. Jerrold Nadler [D-NY]Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA]
Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA]Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD]Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon [D-PA]Rep. Dina Titus [D-NV]
Rep. Carolyn Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Eleanor Norton [D-DC]Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR]Rep. Gerald Connolly [D-VA]
Rep. Veronica Escobar [D-TX]Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX]Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA]Rep. Paul Tonko [D-NY]
Rep. Dan Meuser [R-PA]Rep. Gwen Moore [D-WI]Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA]Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA]
Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA]Rep. Michael Doyle [D-PA]Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ]Rep. John Sarbanes [D-MD]
Rep. Sean Casten [D-IL]Rep. Bill Foster [D-IL]Rep. Betty McCollum [D-MN]Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D-OR]
Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI]Rep. James Langevin [D-RI]Rep. John Larson [D-CT]Rep. Bobby Rush [D-IL]
Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA]Rep. Nanette Barragan [D-CA]Rep. Suzanne Bonamici [D-OR]Rep. Chrissy Houlahan [D-PA]
Rep. Val Demings [D-FL]Rep. Christopher Pappas [D-NH]Rep. Michael Waltz [R-FL]Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL]
Rep. Ted Budd [R-NC]Rep. Cindy Axne [D-IA]Rep. Chellie Pingree [D-ME]Rep. Katie Porter [D-CA]
Rep. Raul Grijalva [D-AZ]Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA]Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA]Rep. Rashida Tlaib [D-MI]
Rep. Rick Larsen [D-WA]Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY]Rep. Madeleine Dean [D-PA]Rep. David Scott [D-GA]
Rep. Peter Welch [D-VT]Rep. Matthew Cartwright [D-PA]Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA]Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA]
Rep. Tom Reed [R-NY]Rep. Tony Cardenas [D-CA]Rep. Angela Craig [D-MN]Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA]
Rep. Marcy Kaptur [D-OH]Rep. Don Beyer [D-VA]Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL]Rep. Colin Allred [D-TX]
Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA]Rep. John Katko [R-NY]Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD]Rep. Linda Sanchez [D-CA]
Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler [R-WA]Rep. Haley Stevens [D-MI]Rep. David Price [D-NC]Rep. John Yarmuth [D-KY]
Rep. Tom O'Halleran [D-AZ]Rep. Bill Johnson [R-OH]Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA]Rep. Sharice Davids [D-KS]
Rep. Troy Carter [D-LA]Rep. Lori Trahan [D-MA]Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA]Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY]
Rep. Greg Stanton [D-AZ]Rep. Bonnie Coleman [D-NJ]Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA]Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee [D-TX]
Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX]Rep. Tim Ryan [D-OH]Rep. Ken Buck [R-CO]Rep. Guy Reschenthaler [R-PA]
Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA]Rep. C.A. Ruppersberger [D-MD]Rep. Susan Wild [D-PA]Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL]
Rep. Antonio Delgado [D-NY]Rep. Andre Carson [D-IN]Rep. Brian Higgins [D-NY]Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY]
Rep. Stephanie Murphy [D-FL]Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA]Rep. Maria Salazar [R-FL]Rep. Bradley Schneider [D-IL]
Rep. Adam Kinzinger [R-IL]Rep. Jeff Fortenberry [R-NE]Rep. Gregorio Sablan [I-MP]Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC]
Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ]Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA]Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI]Rep. Sara Jacobs [D-CA]
Rep. Kaialii Kahele [D-HI]Rep. David Cicilline [D-RI]Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA]Rep. Elaine Luria [D-VA]
Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH]Rep. Diana DeGette [D-CO]Rep. Joseph Neguse [D-CO]Rep. Theodore Deutch [D-FL]
Rep. Henry Johnson [D-GA]Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Gregory Meeks [D-NY]Rep. Andy Levin [D-MI]
Rep. Yvette Clarke [D-NY]Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA]Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA]Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA]
Rep. Mondaire Jones [D-NY]Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA]Rep. William Keating [D-MA]Rep. Bill Pascrell [D-NJ]
Rep. James Himes [D-CT]Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA]Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA]Rep. Albio Sires [D-NJ]
Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN]Rep. Jeff Van Drew [R-NJ]Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL]Rep. Josh Harder [D-CA]
Rep. Ed Perlmutter [D-CO]Rep. Stephen Lynch [D-MA]Rep. Conor Lamb [D-PA]Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ]
Rep. Jennifer Wexton [D-VA]Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI]Rep. Patrick McHenry [R-NC]Rep. Joe Courtney [D-CT]
Rep. Lauren Underwood [D-IL]Rep. David Trone [D-MD]Rep. Lisa Rochester [D-DE]Rep. Richard Hudson [R-NC]
Rep. Fred Keller [R-PA]Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX]Rep. Joseph Morelle [D-NY]Rep. Ed Case [D-HI]
Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL]Rep. Mark Amodei [R-NV]Rep. Josh Gottheimer [D-NJ]Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA]
Rep. Mike Kelly [R-PA]Rep. Rosa DeLauro [D-CT]Rep. Elissa Slotkin [D-MI]Rep. Fred Upton [R-MI]
Rep. Don Bacon [R-NE]Rep. Abigail Spanberger [D-VA]Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA]Rep. James McGovern [D-MA]
Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL]Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA]Rep. Bill Posey [R-FL]Rep. G. Butterfield [D-NC]
Rep. Richard Neal [D-MA]Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA]Rep. Carlos Gimenez [R-FL]Rep. Claudia Tenney [R-NY]
Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA]Rep. Marie Newman [D-IL]Rep. Danny Davis [D-IL]Rep. Kathy Castor [D-FL]
Rep. Deborah Ross [D-NC]Rep. Jesus Garcia [D-IL]Rep. Emanuel Cleaver [D-MO]Rep. Ron Kind [D-WI]
Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA]Rep. Andy Kim [D-NJ]Rep. Donald McEachin [D-VA]Rep. Jason Crow [D-CO]
Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA]Rep. Nydia Velazquez [D-NY]Rep. Robert Scott [D-VA]Rep. Elizabeth Fletcher [D-TX]
Rep. David Joyce [R-OH]Rep. Kay Granger [R-TX]Rep. Jahana Hayes [D-CT]Rep. Marilyn Strickland [D-WA]
Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA]Rep. Al Green [D-TX]Rep. Nicole Malliotakis [R-NY]Rep. David Schweikert [R-AZ]
Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ]Rep. Jake Auchincloss [D-MA]Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA]Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX]
Rep. Scott Franklin [R-FL]Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL]Rep. Glenn Thompson [R-PA]Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY]
Rep. Mike Levin [D-CA]Rep. Ilhan Omar [D-MN]Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL]Rep. Sanford Bishop [D-GA]
Rep. Frederica Wilson [D-FL]Rep. Michael Turner [R-OH]Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX]Rep. Kim Schrier [D-WA]
Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA]Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY]Rep. Ritchie Torres [D-NY]Rep. Bryan Steil [R-WI]
Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA]Rep. Kathy Manning [D-NC]Rep. Nancy Mace [R-SC]Rep. Teresa Fernandez [D-NM]
Rep. Sylvia Garcia [D-TX]Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX]Rep. Nikema Williams [D-GA]Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI]
Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX]Rep. Steve Chabot [R-OH]Rep. Suzanne Lee [D-NV]Rep. Lloyd Smucker [R-PA]
Rep. Christopher Smith [R-NJ]


2021-09-30HouseReferred to the House Committee on Energy and Commerce.
2021-09-30HouseIntroduced in House

Same As/Similar To

SB2295 (Same As) 2021-06-24 - Read twice and referred to the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation.


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments