Bill Text: TX SR423 | 2013-2014 | 83rd Legislature | Enrolled

Bill Title: Recognizing Boy Scout Troop 7 in Grapevine on the occasion of its 100th anniversary.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2013-03-25 - Again read [SR423 Detail]

Download: Texas-2013-SR423-Enrolled.html
         WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to
  recognize Boy Scout Troop 7, of Grapevine, on the occasion of the
  troop's 100th anniversary, which is being celebrated in 2013; and
         WHEREAS, Boy Scout Troop 7 is one of the oldest Scouting
  organizations in Texas; it was founded by the mayor of Grapevine,
  Benjamin Richard Wall, in 1913, three years after the scouting
  movement first put down roots in the United States; and
         WHEREAS, The troop was chartered in Arlington in 1923, and
  in 1931, it returned to Grapevine and became affiliated with the
  Grapevine Business Men's League; in 1939, the troop was supported
  by the Grapevine Lions Club, and in 1980, Saint Francis Catholic
  Church became the chartering organization; and
         WHEREAS, Over the last 100 years, the scouts of Troop 7
  have participated in countless community projects; current
  projects include conducting flag ceremonies for Memorial Day
  services and aiding schools, municipalities, and other
  organizations with targeted Eagle Scout projects; and
         WHEREAS, Eagle Scout Don Blan is the present Scoutmaster,
  and in December of 2012, there were 98 Troop 7 Eagle Scouts and
  more than 50 active scouts; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
  83rd Legislature, hereby commend Boy Scout Troop 7 on its
  longtime service to the Grapevine community and extend
  congratulations to all associated with the troop on its
  centennial anniversary; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
  Boy Scout Troop 7 as an expression of esteem from the
  Texas Senate.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on March 18, 2013.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate