WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to
  recognize the South East Arlington Property Owners and Paloma
  Resources on their foresight and community spirit in
  establishing a scholarship fund and to congratulate the
  recipients of the fund's first five scholarships; and
         WHEREAS, These two exemplary organizations have come
  together to award a series of scholarships to deserving local
  students; and
         WHEREAS, The groundwork for this effort was laid five years
  ago when Paloma Resources donated $100,000 to begin a scholarship
  fund to be augmented with royalties from the proceeds of a
  gas-drilling contract negotiated with South East Arlington
  Property Owners; and
         WHEREAS, Receiving these scholarships are Derek Rodriquez,
  Sydney Ann Szmuc, and Chandra Hamilton of Arlington High School
  and Mykayla Coates and Relius Johnson of Bowie High School; these
  young scholars earned the grants by maintaining 3.0 grade-point
  averages, participating in extracurricular activities, and
  writing an essay on educational goals and patriotism; and
         WHEREAS, Education plays a major role in the state's growth
  and prosperity, and the example set by these two outstanding
  organizations can be a viable model for future partnerships; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd
  Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend the South East
  Arlington Property Owners and Paloma Resources on their
  scholarship initiative and extend congratulations to the
  recipients of the first set of scholarships from their
  groundbreaking agreement; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
  them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on June 6, 2013.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate