Bill Text: TX HR362 | 2017 | 85th Legislature 1st Special Session | Enrolled

Bill Title: Congratulating Major General Gerald R. Betty on his retirement as commanding general of the Texas State Guard.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 5-0)

Status: (Passed) 2017-08-14 - Reported enrolled [HR362 Detail]

Download: Texas-2017-HR362-Enrolled.html
  H.R. No. 362
         WHEREAS, Major General Gerald R. Betty is retiring as
  commanding general of the Texas State Guard in 2017, drawing to a
  close an outstanding military career that has spanned more than
  four decades; and
         WHEREAS, After earning his bachelor's degree from Texas A&M
  University in 1973, "Jake" Betty was commissioned a second
  lieutenant in the U.S. Army and assigned to the 101st Airborne
  Division at Fort Campbell, where he served as infantry platoon
  leader, infantry company executive officer, reconnaissance platoon
  leader, and battalion operations and training officer; and
         WHEREAS, General Betty left active duty in 1977, but he
  continued to serve in the Texas National Guard as commander of C
  Company, 1st/143rd Infantry, 36th Airborne Brigade; in 1979, he
  transferred to the U.S. Army Reserve, where he held a number of
  leadership positions; his assignments over the years included
  deployment to Bosnia in 1997-1998, following the end of the Bosnian
  War, in support of Operation Joint Guard; in February 2003, while
  serving as commander of the 3419th Military Intelligence Detachment
  at Naval Air Station Joint Reserve Base Fort Worth, he was mobilized
  and named chief of the Defense Intelligence Agency Iraq Survey
  Group, Fusion Center-CONUS, whose mission was to support Operation
  Iraqi Freedom; he retired from the Army Reserve later that year,
  following an exemplary career in the army that spanned three
  decades; and
         WHEREAS, This distinguished officer joined the Texas State
  Guard in 2006; he served as commander of the 8th Regiment and as
  headquarters J1 before being promoted to commander of the Army
  Component Command in 2013; in September 2014, he became the guard's
  commanding general; during his time in the guard, he has served on
  active duty missions in response to Hurricanes Dean, Gustav, Dolly,
  Edouard, and Ike, and he has supported repeated state guard
  deployments to deal with flooding in Central Texas; he has also
  served as a liaison for Operation Jade Helm and overseen Operations
  Lone Star, Border Star, Strong Safety, and Secure Texas; in
  addition, he has strengthened the guard's military doctrine,
  policies, and procedures, and he has increased joint training
  between the guard's components while improving cooperation between
  the guard and the Texas Military Department; and
         WHEREAS, In all his endeavors, General Betty benefits from
  the love and support of Juli Betty, his wife of 40 years; the couple
  take pride in a treasured family that includes their son, Josh
  Betty, and his wife, Jen, their daughter, Alison Perdue, and her
  husband, James, and their grandchildren, Jax, Joy-Lindsey, and
  Rudder; and
         WHEREAS, Major General Jake Betty's dedication to the highest
  standards of his profession has greatly benefited his fellow Texans
  and earned him the respect and admiration of his fellow soldiers,
  and he may indeed reflect with pride on a career well spent as he
  embarks upon the next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore,
  be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
  Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Major General
  Gerald R. Betty on his retirement as commanding general of the Texas
  State Guard and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future;
  and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for General Betty as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.
  King of Parker
Straus Goldman Oliverson
Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega
Alonzo González of El Paso Paddie
Alvarado Gooden Parker
Anchia Guerra Paul
Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez
Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan
Arévalo Hefner Phillips
Ashby Hernandez Pickett
Bailes Herrero Price
Bell Hinojosa Raney
Bernal Holland Raymond
Biedermann Howard Reynolds
Blanco Huberty Rinaldi
Bohac Hunter Roberts
Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar
Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis
Burkett Johnson of Dallas Romero, Jr.
Burns Johnson of Harris Rose
Burrows Kacal Sanford
Button Keough Schaefer
Cain King of Hemphill Schofield
Canales King of Parker Schubert
Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen
Clardy Klick Sheffield
Coleman Koop Shine
Collier Krause Simmons
Cook Kuempel Smithee
Cortez Lambert Springer
Cosper Landgraf Stephenson
Craddick Lang Stickland
Cyrier Larson Stucky
Dale Laubenberg Swanson
Darby Leach Thierry
Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Lozano Thompson of Harris
Dean Lucio III Tinderholt
Deshotel Martinez Turner
Dukes Metcalf Uresti
Dutton Meyer VanDeaver
Elkins Miller Villalba
Faircloth Minjarez Vo
Fallon Moody Walle
Farrar Morrison White
Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson
Frank Murphy Workman
Frullo Murr Wray
Geren Neave Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez Zedler
Giddings Oliveira Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 362 was adopted by the House on August
  14, 2017, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House