Bill Text: TX HR25 | 2013 | 83rd Legislature 2nd Special Session | Enrolled

Bill Title: Congratulating Lela and Vernon Johnson of Houston on their 66th wedding anniversary.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2013-07-10 - Reported enrolled [HR25 Detail]

Download: Texas-2013-HR25-Enrolled.html
  H.R. No. 25
         WHEREAS, Lela and Vernon Johnson of Houston are celebrating
  their 66th wedding anniversary on July 27, 2013, and they may
  reflect with joy on a rewarding and lasting relationship that began
  with a storybook romance; and
         WHEREAS, At age six, Vernon Johnson was attending school in a
  one-room schoolhouse in rural Louisiana when a young girl named
  Lela Davis caught his eye; though unspoken for many years, his
  affection for her never wavered, even after he was transferred to
  another school in the fourth grade; in 1943, the pair were reunited
  when they ran into one another at a grocery store shortly before
  Mr. Johnson was to be deployed to serve in World War II; he summoned
  the courage to ask for her address, so that he could write to her
  from wherever he was based; and
         WHEREAS, Through his three years of military service,
  Mr. Johnson sent Miss Davis innumerable love letters, including one
  in which he expressed his wish to marry her but asked that she
  postpone her answer until he had returned; when he was released from
  active duty, their courtship officially began as they finished
  school in Natchitoches, Louisiana; out of what was once a
  friendship between schoolmates, true love blossomed, and the two
  were joined in matrimony at the home of Mr. Johnson's parents in
  July 1947; and
         WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Johnson moved to Houston in 1949,
  eventually settling in the Pleasantville neighborhood; they became
  the proud parents of four daughters, Barbara Johnson-Jefferson,
  Linda Johnson-Roy, LaVern Johnson, and Monica Johnson-Smith;
  through the years, they have seen their family grow to include a
  son-in-law, Michael Smith, as well as five grandchildren, Kim Roy,
  Toni Jefferson, Morgan Smith, Meagan Smith, and Bryan
  Bostick, an honorary granddaughter, Kristin Stapleton, four
  great-grandchildren, Alicia and Sharelle Jefferson and Tiffany and
  Jordan Roy, and a great-great-granddaughter, Toni-Logan Williams;
         WHEREAS, Respected members of their community, Mr. Johnson
  worked at Weingarten Grocery and later operated a remodeling
  business, while Mrs. Johnson was employed as an EKG technician; now
  enjoying retirement together, both are longtime congregants at
  Mt. Olive Baptist Church; and
         WHEREAS, Although much has changed in the world since they
  exchanged vows on that special day in 1947, this inspiring husband
  and wife have remained true to their promise of lifelong
  commitment, and it is a pleasure to join their admiring circle of
  loved ones in honoring them at this time; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate Lela and
  Vernon Johnson on their 66 years of marriage and extend to them
  warmest best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Johnson as an expression of high regard
  by the Texas House of Representatives.
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 25 was adopted by the House on July 9,
  2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House